Things I am hyped for (Or: Why Gunpla might be taking a backseat in the following months)

Because things are sort of in a state of limbo right now, let’s go over some of the things that will be showing up soon.

That’s right- the next big purchase is going to be an airbrush. The days of spray painting are (mostly) over and done with and it’s time for me to plunk down the cash on one of these. I’ve settled on the Iwata HP-CS which is around 240$ USD from Amazon. A steep investment, but it will definitely pay for itself. Thinking of all the money I’ve spent on spraycans is getting really depressing. I could get a cheaper airbrush and get a better one later, but I really don’t see the point in that route.

Next up: The HMM Blade Liger Mirage. I’ve been meaning to check out Koto’s HMM ZOIDS line for a long time now and they finally figured out how to get me- release a special edition. It’s too bad this thing doesn’t drop until late August, but damn it looks good. I preordered mine almost two months ago. To make matters worse, they’re releasing a Liger Zero in the winter which will also wind up on my list.

Then in the realm of resin kits we’ve got GaoFighGar and GaoGaiGar. While I can’t be 100% sure of the origin of these, I’ve heard they’re a bit like prototype revoltechs that employ a different joint system- the original casts of these kits had no trouble holding up five phonebooks, if they’re the same kit. Add that in to the fact that The King of Braves is my favorite super robot and you’ve got a nobrainer. They’re not cheap, but they’ll be worth it. Another big resin kit I’m looking at is the Harvest-wks Rockman Zero. He’s a tiny little bugger but there really isn’t any other option for a quality Zero figure. I’m still debating on this one, given the small nature of the kit and my current skill level.

And even if it’s taking bit of a backseat lately, there are still a ton of awesome gunpla kits to work on or buy. Excluding Fang Musha (work resumes this week!) there are a LOT of good things to work on that I already have sitting around and even more stuff coming out in the next few months that are going to be incredible. MG The O (I already have the colors for it decided on!), RG RX-78 which is looking like my favorite RX-78 kit to date and the MG Deathscythe ver. Ka which might be one of the kits I’m looking forward too the most this year. As for the things alredy sitting around that I’m working on…well..

  • PG Red Frame
  • PG Wing Zero
  • PG Strike
  • MG Wing
  • MG Musha Mk II
  • MG Strike Noir
  • HG Masurao
  • HG ReZEL

And so, as you can see, there won’t be any sort of shortage on activity in the coming weeks. Of course, this is assuming my new PS3 doesn’t suck of up all of my free time (It very well might). Regardless, stay tuned!

,

  1. #1 by Gunstray on June 28, 2010 - 03:00

    Love your choice of resin kit, though seriously, I thought Resin are fragile as hell, how could it could it handle to begin with GaoGaiGars heavy (Addons) stuff.

  2. #2 by Busterbeam on June 28, 2010 - 08:00

    busy guy! are you really going for the O? wow

  3. #3 by Vampire on June 28, 2010 - 09:22

    Hello,

    If you wanna buy Iwata HP CS, you could try this ebay seller

    http://myworld.ebay.com/ebaymotors/tcpglobal/

    I brought mine from them and this airbrush is fantastic…worth every penny spent.

  4. #4 by lupes on June 28, 2010 - 09:30

    Gunstray: They don’t transform, so I think it should be okay. GaoGaiGar is big, but not as big as. say, a full resin kit of Kshatriya in 1/100 scale. In my experience resin isn’t very fragile, I dropped numerous pieces multiple times and they didn’t suffer any damage. Sure, you can’t play with it quite as much as a plamo kit but if you’re careful it’s mostly fine.

    Busterbeam: Yup! I really hope I can just win the damn thing, though. If I don’t it’ll probably be a minute before I buy it.

    Vampire: That’s actually the amazon seller I saw it listed by as well. The ebay bundle comes with a hell of a lot more stuff, thanks!

  5. #5 by Schwarzwald731 on June 28, 2010 - 14:10

    Dude, don’t spend that kind of money on an airbrush! If you’re in the US,

    http://www.chicagoairbrushsupply.com/iwechp.html.

    There’s your Iwata HP-CS for 120 bucks. I love that site. If you’re looking to plop down that kind of cash, you might as well get something even higher end than the one you have picked out. That site has amazing selection.

    Happy Hunting!

  6. #6 by chubbybots on June 28, 2010 - 18:28

    Whoa hardware upgrade nice :D Gwad I love Gaogaiger series….my fave super robot. Nothing beats having a giant planet crushing hammer ^^

  7. #7 by Vampire on June 28, 2010 - 18:45

    Schwarzwald731: That is a good price for IWATA HP-CS…. I brought it for USD 160. Of course, I needed that item delivered from USA to Australia. The thing is, all modeling stuff in Australia are so overprice. So, I have no choice but to purchase it online.

    Lupe: Happy Hunting…^^

  8. #8 by lupes on June 29, 2010 - 00:57

    Schwarzwald: From what I can tell, that doesn’t come with a compressor or any of the extra goodies the HP-CS from TCP global comes with, which while I don’t really need the extra stuff, I -do- need a compressor since I don’t have one of those either.

    Chubby: Can’t wait to get those two, even if it’s going to be awhile. :)

  9. #9 by Schwarzwald731 on June 29, 2010 - 02:13

    Oh, well I didn’t realize you were getting a package deal. if you’re getting all that for 250 that’s pretty good. Though I haven’t looked around to see what compressor you’re getting and if it’s cheaper at Chicago Airbrush supply. I do a lot of airbrushing and whatnot so I invested in a really high end compressor up front and haven’t looked back since. Even more than a quality airbrush, a quality compressor makes for a good airbrushing experience.

  10. #10 by Tonzo on June 29, 2010 - 17:20

    That’s a quality AB dude. If you have the space a half decent tradesman’s compressor from the hardware store is a great option. My little compressor can only run for about 5 minutes before it starts to overheat as it has no storage tank.

  11. #11 by Gundam Guy on June 30, 2010 - 01:13

    Good call on the airbrush. I hope you will get one soon. Iwata is really a good brand with great performance. I own two of them myself. I’ve the Hi-Line HP-CH & High Performance Plus HP-BC. They are so nice to work with.

    Hope to see you working on your kits again after your limbo.

  12. #12 by Model Zero X on July 13, 2010 - 13:47

    yo, just a note about the Zero figure, it’s a garage kit so it’s you’ll have to have a drill handy to drill a couple holes, and i’ve heard the polycaps they give you with the figure kinda suck, so you might want to grab some better ones while your’e at it. all in all though, it’s a very nice kit after you’ve

  13. #13 by Model Zero X on July 13, 2010 - 13:51

    …finished it. sry, didnt realize that i didnt finish my post before posting.

  14. #14 by lupes on July 14, 2010 - 01:27

    Model Zero X: Yeah, I’ve had to do the same thing for my Samus so I’m prepared for that. Only hard part will be just how small the kit is I think, once I get around to getting it. I’m -really- trying to work at getting my backlog of stuff cleaned up but it’s damn hard with all this stuff coming out nowadays.

  15. #15 by Model Zero X on July 15, 2010 - 01:20

    Yeah… I just realized that you’ve done that before AFTER I typed and sent my posts… ^^; Anyways, you’re Samus looks pretty good so far ^^

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

