Old Project: MG Rx-93-2

The rest of this post is about a kit I built back in January- something to tide you over while I eagerly await my MG Sinanju and MG Unicorn gundams to arrive from HobbyLink Japan. Enjoy!

I bought this model after looking at Martin Wandering’s Hi-V model, customized with a purple secondary color instead of the normal sky blue. Having been a fan of the RX-93-2 Gundam since a friend showed it to me in one of the Super Robot Wars games I figured that it would be an interesting kit to put together, considering all of the weapons and for the fact the suit itself is quite a piece of work. It’s the most recent MG kit I have built, the prior two (Wing Ver. Ka and Ez8; MG numbers 69 and 33 respectively) being fairly dated compared to it. Note the obvious daylight in this picture, okay?

box

My laptop has a 15.4″ display so as you can see the box for this model is definitely on the large side. There are a total of 17 part runners, a PCB runner and two runners for the beam sabers (short and long). The kit itself is fairly straight forward though since it doesn’t have a bunch of little irritating gimmicks included with it aside from your standard MG affiars- cockpits, weapons, ect.

p1010444

I generally follow the manual when it comes to building gunpla just for the sake of not getting lost and winding up with parts left on the runners and not having to go back through to see where I missed a step. As such, this was the first piece of the gundam that I set to work on. Lacking in paints (and the skill required to paint such a small figure), Amuro is resigned to remaining all white in the cockpit of his mobile suit. I had an issue with getting the cockpit to sit still when I was trying to put the other half of the chest together so I wound up super gluing it in place.

p1010445
p1010446

The front and back of the chest, mostly finished. A little bit of the chrome silver (GM100) and gold (GM04) do an excellent job making the boosters on the back look extra-spiffy.

p1010447

Finished head stuck on the body. You’ll have to excuse the blurriness since I’m not exactly good at taking pictures (another excuse to keep this blog going). The V-antennae are attached to the trees by only one very thin clip point. so you really don’t have to worry about breaking them. Apparently the ‘For Domestic Use Only’ was on the tree with the antennae (something I found out from Martin), though the model was purchased from a store in Michigan. As such, I’m doubting a version with more clip points exist. The blue cap does a nice job of hiding the two pieces that combine to form the antennae at any rate. A little black and yellow for the eyes and you have a menacing mug on an even more menacing gundam.

p1010450

The inner frame and hand of the right arm. The hand was originally molded with the thumb and index finger being separate while the other 3 fingers were one part. Since each finger had a ball at the end if it I decided to cut the three fingers apart for an added bit of fun with the model. The wrists are also interesting since the ball and joint are separate, so the wrist can get in to some positions that you might not see with other MG kits.

p1010453

Hi-V is just a bit rude while showing off his improved digits. Each arm has a little gimmick of it’s own, but I’ll go in to detail on those at the end of this post.

p1010455

One armored and unarmored leg. The ankle and knee both have a set of pistons that are fully working and do look quite nice. I didn’t take a picture of it, but the feet of Hi-V also have something like cleats that fold down for the purpose of letting the suit get a better grip in Zero-G environments.

p1010457

The finished model, sans funnels weapons and shields. It stands a good deal taller then the other kits I’ve built, usually by at least a head.

p1010459

One finished fin funnel and 5 unfinished ones. They don’t take very long to assemble which is something I’m grateful to bandai for. God only knows how annoying it would have been if they had each taken 15-20 minutes to put together.

p1010461

The funnel racks hold three each and are able to move a fairly decent amount. The only downside is that they can only move side to side and turn, though this doesn’t really interfere with much at all since each funnel can move up and down on it’s own.

With that, the important parts of the model were finished. The weapons were constructed quickly but there isn’t very much special to say about them at all. There are however, gimmicks!

p1010472

The left arm contains a flip-up compartment for one of Hi-Vs three beam sabers. I’m pleased to say that unlike the Ez8’s neat storage spots this spot actually manages to serve it’s purpose instead of looking cool on paper and then stopping there. The shield also attaches to the large bit that sticks up above the hatch. While it’s not a super tight connection I have never had an issue with it falling off.

p1010477

While Hi-V features your usual head mounted vulcan machine guns, it’s also got this bad boy on his right forearm. The barrel moves up and down, and the clip in the back can come out.

p1010475

In addition to the forearm beam saber, each funnel rack houses a double-ended beam saber. I neglected to take any pictures of them in action, but if you just take the normal beam saber and add a smaller one to the bottom end of it you have the basic idea down.

p1010480

The finished product. The final version of Amuro Ray’s RX-93 gundam isn’t something you want to tussle with, unless your name is Char.

The kit took about 12 hours to put together (let’s all have a collective thanks for days off- without them I fear I’d never get anything done) and was fun the entire way through. As you can see from the last picture, I did eventually put a few of the dry transfer decals on even though I was very hesitant to do so since I had some very bad luck with them on my Wing Ver. Ka and Ez8 model. I’m pleased to say they turned out rather well this time and can only hope that I have the same luck when I construct the Unicorn and Sinanju. While I wish I had some topcoat handy for this to put a final finishing touch on it, the hobby store near me was miraculously out of flat topcoat so it’ll have to wait.

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

