wip – Almost done!

Pounded out the last of the painting this afternoon, so the construction went fairly quickly until I hit the shield, which wound up sucking down a lot of time (and will still claim more since it really needs touched up) and making the finishing steps take a lot longer.

p1010589

One complete ankle assembly. Sinanju is one heavy hitter, so these (along with the rest of his leg joints) are slightly on the stiff side. I’ll go in to details later on.

p1010591

Working pistons in the back of the feet. As with the rest of the moving frame parts, these are impossible to see once everything has been assembled on top of them.

p1010594

Maybe it’s just me, but Sinanju’s feet remind me of elf shoes. Barring that, one can’t deny they have an odd shape to them compared to the rest of the mobile suits out there (except maybe Unicorn’s NT-D high heels).

p1010595

Leg internals. Fairly simple really.

p1010596

Did I mention that Sinanju is big? He’s taller than NT-D Unicorn and his knees are bent!

p1010597

Another layer of the leg armor. There are a few extra bits here and there like gold vents and some pegs for the boosters on the legs to attach to but it’s mostly standard fare here. Not that I’m complaining or anything!

p1010598

Finished leg internals. Not much else to say here?

p1010600

Wasting more of my life painting these! The end result was well worth it but at this point I was just thinking “Just these and the shield left…just these and the shield left.” since I was sick to death of painting.

p1010601

The legs, despite being stiff, do have a great range of motion.

p1010605

The inside of the back booster. Some armor pieces come down over this and that’s really all that happens with that. They do pull up and the boosters slide out more, which is about as special as they get.

p1010603

The final boss…after everything I had heard this was one of the biggest things (next to painting in and of itself) that I was dreading getting to.

p1010604

All in all this could have gone a lot worse. The red part was kind of hard to paint since there wasn’t a solid edge line like there is for the black parts. I’ll probably have to go back and touch this up again later with another coat of paint, but for now this will do.

p1010607

Big rifle. The tabs on Sinanju’s hands actually do hold on to the weapons well enough so you can actually pose him, though his grip isn’t as good as Hi-Nu’s.

p1010608

I’m not really sure what the technical name is for these weapons (all I can gather is it’s just beam sabers stored in a wrist compartment and activated from there), but damned if they don’t look cool. Does anyone else ever notice that Zeon’s melee weapons look more interesting nine times out of ten (The hyper hammer will always win out) than the Federation’s?

p1010609

Aw, Sinanju!! You brought your shield but didn’t bring yourself any weapons! What are you going to do now?

p1010611

…Oh. Well then, carry on.

I’m still not counting this as done since I still have a very large amount of dry transfer decals to go through and put on to the model, even though I’ve decided on not using all of them. I don’t really have any complaints about the model itself, it’s absolutely marvelous to look at and a pleasure to build. The only minor annoyance is that the legs seem to have a penchant for popping out of the waist when you try to move the legs on the y-axis but you can just hold them in place while you’re posing and this becomes a non-issue.

Is it March 12th yet? I’m incredibly excited for the PG Red Frame! I’m thinking for the head I’ll use the normal white parts but for the rest of the suit will utilize the bonus clear parts Bandai is including for the preorder kits. In addition to the clear parts they’ll also be throwing in the Tiger Pierce (which I’m guessing is just a second Gerbera Straight?) and a stand to display both swords on. This will be my first PG kit (God, my wallet hurts just thinking about the price tag) but after tackling the Sinanju I feel that I’ll be able to handle a kit that just has a lot of tricky parts and gimmicks. As long as I don’t have to paint anything I think we’ll be just fine. 😉 I’d love to hear some other thoughts on the clear/standard armor parts though.

I don’t really have plans to build any gunpla between now and when the Red Frame comes out, so this will probably simmer down a little bit after I finish working on Sinanju unless I get some fun ideas to throw out here. Luckily, I still have the final thoughts on Unicorn and Sinanju to do, so there will be at least one more post between Sinanju’s completion and the Red Frame. While this and the Unicorn took me a relatively short amount of time, I can’t see myself finishing the Red Frame in under a week.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Rob on February 24, 2009 - 01:36

    Very nice pictures! I’ve picked up the Sinanju myself, but just the thought of the painting part alone is what’s keeping it well down at the bottom of my backlog.

    In regards to the PG Astray, I’m hearing that the release date is around March 25th~27th at this point? As for building PG kits, I’ve done three now, and of them, Strike was the easiest to build. As the Astray is techically Strike version 1.5, you shouldn’t have any trouble.

    While there are some technical areas (wiring leds and batteries specifically) that can be a little tough, the fact that PG parts are bigger makes it them easier to build sometimes.

    Anyways, I added a link to your blog on mine, so I hope you don’t mind.
    Looking forward to seeing more posts!

  2. #2 by lupes on February 24, 2009 - 02:08

    Thanks! Really, as long as you can find a fine tipped brush anywhere and have fairly steady hands, painting won’t be too much of a problem. This was the first time I’ve ever had to do any serious painting on a model (not that I’ve had much time to need to- Sinanju is only the fifth MG I’ve built) but I’d like to think the end results were nice enough. I suspect a black gundam marker+marker remover will make cleaning up parts that accidentally got painted very easy, but I’ve yet to test this on this shield.

    Pleased to hear the Astray won’t be quite a pain to build, though late march is somewhat of a downer. Looks like I might pick up one of those Hyaku-Shiki kits just to pass the time between now and then. I’d love to hear more about the wiring aspect of the PG kits though, i was never really sure where they’d put something like that. I’m guessing it’s got something like a magnet switch or something with just a small wire or two?

Leave a Reply

