WIP – Black Tri-Stars Zaku II

Planning on taking my time on this one since I think I’ll be getting some topcoat and giving it a go (currently looking at this kind, but what’s the difference because that and this? And what about this other stuff?) Please give me some feedback on topcoats that haven’t ruined your models. I was going to paint it to hide the clipmarks and swirl but couldn’t find any particluar sets that were exactly the right colors.

p1010708

Left shoulder/torso bit. The cylinder on the right moves and slides with the arm. It’s not very big or elaborate but it does look nice.

p1010712

The cockpit, which can switch sides up until you put the booster pack on. It’s just a little cosmetic touch but the thoughtfulness is nice. I wound up letting the pilot sit on the other side (Honestly, I can’t tell who is who on the runners).

p1010715

I was hoping I’d have a little reactor decal or sticker to put over this from looking at Martin’s Zaku II writeup but alas, it was not to be.  I don’t know if he did it himself or if said details just didn’t come with the BTS Zaku.  If it’s the former, I have to give the man props for such a nice bit of work on his models.

p1010716

The backpack was a quick and easy assembly, with a spot of metallic red added to the inside of the boosters for show. I’m still debating whether or not I want to do the boosters themselves in a chrome silver color but for now they’ll stay black like the rest of the pack.

p1010717

Whoever thought this up should have been given a MASSIVE payraise. It takes the frustration out of these cables and makes it so getting the round bits on to the cables doesn’t make me want to punch the nearest bystander. Thank you, nameless guy who decided on this.

p1010719

Finished torso innards, balancing on the boosters. The internet looms in the background.

p1010723

I can’t help but laugh at the poor Zaku II who forgot his hat. He reminds me vaugly of a duck.

p1010724

Much more menacing.

I have the next two days off, but we’ll see if I work on it any more. So far this kit has been pretty interesting and fun to build, enough that I can see myself building Char’s Zaku and some more regular Zaku II units to go with it. Not to mention it’s not an overly expensive (60+) kit so I could use it as a testbed for stuff like weathering and topcoating. I’m glad I finally got around to starting this!

Of course, If I get more Zaku units I can see myself getting the ver. Ka RX-78 for fun…the ver. 2.0 Gundam just doesn’t appeal to me.  I couldn’t tell you why, though.

In other news, Gundam 00 S2 episode 22 recently came out. In the trailer for the next episode..

1236730653958

What’s up, Amuro? 0 Gundam? More like RX-78-2…

I don’t really mind.

I picked up Street Fighter 4 and can see that taking up a fair amount of time since I have a lot of friends who are way way waaaaay in to it, but it’s all good. Not too great so far, but Ken and Sakura are definitely on the awesome tier. If you’ve got it for the 360 you can add TTL Lupes and we’ll get a few rounds in, alrighty? Just make sure to mention that you’ve sent it because you read this- I wind up with a lot of friend requests from random people and my list is close to full so I don’t accept them unless there’s a reason to.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Rob on March 11, 2009 - 02:47

    I used Top Coat by Mr. Paint, and everywhere I see in Japan sells nothing but that, so, by all means, go with the top coat.

    Haven’t picked up Street fighter, but I’m XBL and PSN if you want to addme, OsarakuCloudv, and Cloudv, respectively.

  2. #2 by lupes on March 11, 2009 - 11:12

    Is that the first one?

    I added you on XBL, but I think you might’ve gotten it backwards…unless there’s another CloudV out there?

    The WZ is coming along nicely, keep it up!

  3. #3 by レイス on March 11, 2009 - 12:42

    I’m telling you, man. We’ll just head on out to HF and pick up a nice little airbrush kit…. phew and then I promise to help you open it up and play with it some too. 🙂 And I’m building you a macro flash ring for the nearest upcoming celebratory occasion. xD

  4. #4 by Rob on March 12, 2009 - 05:13

    Yeah, it’s the first one.

    Ah, the CloudV is my PSN name.
    I’ll check you out on xbl later then, maybe we have some games to play.

Leave a Reply

