RX-78-2 Ver. OYW [Lupes Color]

Finally! Still don’t have a ton of pictures but we’ve got enough for a decent review. I’ve had plenty of time to look back on the kit and how it turned out after all.

Standard colors for the OYW Gundam compared to my own. I wanted something darker that on a normal battlefield wouldn’t be screaming “I’M OVER HERE SHOOT AT ME PLEASE”. The ’01’ decals were leftovers from the Hi-Nu I put together way back when but add nicely to the overall look of the model.

The offensive bit on the underside of the V-antennae has since be trimmed off and painted back over, but it’s kind of tough to get a picture that shows the metallic blue I used to carefully paint the eyes and camera with. Also, I’m lazy.

Beam saber repaint necessary to keep the look in line. The shield, while decent, certainly would benefit from some weathering on it to enhance the way the paint dried on it.

Gundam Hammer gooooo! Painted the handle and the actual ball but decided that painting the chain wouldn’t be the best idea ever.

That’s all for pictures since as mentioned previously, I am a lazy wretch who loses interest in weapon-building at an astounding rate. Regardless of my laziness the kit turned out really good, with the flat topcoat doing a nice job putting the final finished look over everything. Being the first kit that I put this much work in to means there are of course some flaws (missed spots in some tiny cracks, uneven paint in some areas) but it’s a huge success for me regardless. The kit itself would have looked great painted or not and is a very solid kit with excellent posibility and design. It’s not a complicated kit by any means but all the parts come together nicely to make for a great display. Honestly, the leg runners are the only drawback I can think of for this kit but even those aren’t a big deal. They take a little longer than average to cut out but are not some sort of incredible demon monster that should scare you off from building this kit.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Roy on May 19, 2009 - 10:21

    Whoa did you do that first RX-78(the 1st picture) if you did then wow amazing job ^^ but the lupes color is cool too, makes it dark and independent looking ha ^^ Good detailing too,if I only had half of your talent 😀

    the shield does kinda go into the bland category but still good,maybe switch the star symbol upside down or something,Rebel >:D haha I like the lighting in the pics,makes it even more darker(Or do you have just one lamp?) Great Job 🙂

  2. #2 by lupes on May 19, 2009 - 16:55

    I wish the first one was mine, But i’ve no experience when it comes to shadowing/ultra fine detailing on a kit. It’s something that’s on my list of skills to acquire, though!

  3. #3 by Busterbeam on July 17, 2009 - 22:58

    nice job! i chose a similar colour scheme for my own. almost the same actually but i used dark blue instead of grey. also did you use spray cans or hand paint or airbrush? i like your end result… maybe thats because of the top coat? i am curious about your painting process though.

  4. #4 by lupes on July 18, 2009 - 00:00

    For this and the metallic grey RX-0, I handpainted everything. I was still unsure of my ability to use spraypaints at this point! I painted all the parts while they were still on the runners, clipped ’em off and then touched up the little mark left behind.

    Now I just cut everything out at once and go to it with some spray!

Leave a Reply

