Oh yeaaaaah!

After ENTIRELY too much time, I’m finally finished with my biggest battle to date. May I present…

The RX-0 Absolution! I started this big recolor project back in APRIL, meaning this model definitely took me the longest to finish. Considering all the work I had to do, it’s no real surprise…

Anyway, while this picture is a distant shot I wanted to showcase everything. Aside from the inner frame of the model the vast majority of this model was meticulously painted and decaled though some parts turned out better than others…overall I’m still very proud of it.

The main body, unequipped. That’s the stand from the Gundam Mk2 (which has yet to even be started), I thought it would look nice for the pictures. I really need to make myself a nice lightbox.

Closer shot of the chest. Yeah, I missed a corner. Fixed it later but I’m out of topcoat and HLJ has it on backorder. :(((( You can also see I didn’t have a decal pushed down all the way, which resulted in that ugly white spot on the arm. I’m not sure what to do about that but I’m sure I’ll think of something.

Boosters! The NT-D mode has plenty of them and loves to show ’em off. Chrome/metallic red. The brightness serves as a nice contrast.

I am now convinced I need a better way to shave down nubs than a hobby knife because I hate hate HATE looking at those ugly ass marks on the gatling guns. Anyway,  these are the primary weapons for this particular mobile suit. There’s another set on the other arm. What can I say, I was always a Heavyarms fan.

The shield clips on to the bit that connects the gatling to the arm, so there was no reason to not put it together. The topcoat betrays me again and I don’t know why. I’m sure it’s my fault, but I think the black/blue/grey come together very well on it.

Full load. I had ‘All-Out Offensive’ in mind with this project. I had originally planned on rigging up a second shoulder mounted bazooka but couldn’t find a suitable epoxy.  It doesn’t matter too much since the arms have so much weight on the already adding more would be a bad idea…it can barely hold the arms up!

Pew pew pew beam magnum. The body is done with flat black, with gunmetal for the ammo pack and chrome for the barrel and rail that slides to drop out the ammo.

Bazooka! Not something you want to be on the recieving end of. You can’t see it, but I painted the missiles flat red and the ammo pack in gunmetal, just like the beam magnum’s.

“Absolution…launch!”

So, there you have it. My biggest gunpla project to date (and probably ever- I’m not sure if there’s another suit out there that I want to put this much effort in to again), and it’s one I wanted to do since my original Unicorn Gundam. It feels nice to finally do it and get mostly good results out of it! The deals look much better than the stickers and where a lot less of a pain to put on but they did require additional patience since I had to keep getting warm water over and over. Every little bit of extra works just makes the model that much better though, and I’ve always been a believer in that you get out of it what you put in to it. I came away with some good experience from this model and while I’m not sure if I’ll be going this in depth any more I’m sure that painting my kits to cover clip marks (something I never was originally concerned with) is now going to be commonplace.

I’ll probably make an update before I start working on the Gundam Mk2 since I’m trying to avoid getting burnt out but we’ll see what the topic will be! ‘Till next time!

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Roy on May 23, 2009 - 13:43

    Wow AMAZING job, just would like a better light source so I can see the details more but no biggy ^^ the colors looks fantastic,especially on the shield. It’s sorta like the Unicorn Metal composite. But the nub marks on the Gat were kinda horrendous ^^ but I’m sure you’ll make it look better,as well as little things here and there.

    Kudos to your efforts they really paid off 😀 and take your time for the MK-II k, don’t want you exploding and going crazy haha 😛

  2. #2 by lupes on May 23, 2009 - 15:55

    Yeah, I’m wondering if I can find fill them in with cement or something. Really bad to look at. 😦

    I started Gundam Mk-II last night after all, but I’m doing some new things with it so it should take plenty of time to get done!

  3. #3 by AstrayP03 on May 29, 2009 - 23:41

    Oh damn.
    I haven’t fixed my unicorn yet cus i’m still searching for paint. planned to only paint d psycho frame but after seeing yours my plan seems uh… lousy…

    and wth. you have TWO gattling guns? the one that was given away together with the manga? damnit. i don’t even have one…. T^T

  4. #4 by lupes on May 30, 2009 - 00:08

    Fix? What did you have in mind Astray? While painting the psychoframe only is not nearly as much work as recoloring the entire thing, a simple white-on-whatever-color is always a nice safe choice.

    Yeah, I bought them on ebay. They cost me entirely too much, but I had PLANNED on this being my last project for a long time…so much for that.

  5. #5 by AstrayP03 on May 30, 2009 - 01:19

    I planned on painting it clear green. but i’m not sure if it will look nice.

    blue? it’s already been done before by other ppl…

    any ideas? =)

  6. #6 by lupes on May 30, 2009 - 08:00

    Green usually goes good with white, I think if that’s what you want go for it! 😀 I try not to worry about what’s been done and just go with what I want to do, haha. I do think you’ll need to use more than one coat of clear green to get the color to show up properly though so it’ll be a time consuming task to paint it but we all know the effort put in to a project makes the end result better!

  7. #7 by AstrayP03 on May 30, 2009 - 20:32

    hey, thanks. i just bought a pot of tamiya clear green yesterday…
    Freakin Expensive!!! T^T

  8. #8 by lupes on May 30, 2009 - 22:20

    D:! where did you get it from? I can’t say I’ve ever spent more than 3 bucks on a thing of tamiya paint when I get it from hobbypeople, they’re pretty good about low prices and faster shipping.

  9. #9 by AstrayP03 on May 30, 2009 - 22:44

    I bought it from a tamiya store. couldn’t find it anywhere else. been hunting for it high and low…

  10. #10 by lupes on May 31, 2009 - 13:08

    http://www.hobbypeople.net/prdcls/pmp-ae01.asp

    As long as you’re able to order stuff online, this site is a godsend for paint. 😀

  11. #11 by Ed on May 31, 2009 - 23:20

    O_O. amazing!
    maybe the warning decals should’ve been in white. XD

  12. #12 by lupes on May 31, 2009 - 23:22

    I saw a few banshee/black unicorns out there with them, but no searches proved to be fruitful..i agree though, it would have looked much better.

  13. #13 by Z on June 4, 2009 - 03:21

    I can’t find the right word to describe how incredible this model of yours is but it is a good word ^^;. That model looks very heavy though…like maybe made out of metal o_o. Would love to see more pics of it in like maybe daylight or white light ^^.

  14. #14 by Busterbeam on July 17, 2009 - 23:08

    two words: holy $#!t

Leave a Reply

