Projected Project- Sinanju Revisited

Sinanju was one of my earliest MGs and one of the most time consuming that I’ve done yet. Being such an early model for me, there are a lot of things that I look at now (especially the decals) and feel I can do better. Not to mention the semi-gloss topcoat I used brought out all the spots where I used the GM red to hide clip marks, thus making things way worse. You can’t see it in pictures unless I purposefully take them like that or just looking at it, but I know it’s there.

So, I’ll be doing fixing it up! With no future gunpla projects coming my way (aside from a super-hawt 30th Anniversary RX-78 care of Robert and another project I haven’t even worked out 100%), I’ve decided that I’ll be going back and giving The Big Red Bastard some extra love, like it didn’t get enough to begin with. Planned so far-

  • Paint all red parts with Tamiya TS-50 Mica Blue
  • Paint all black parts with Tamiya TS-29 semi-gloss black
  • Paint the entire frame with Tamiya TS-38 gunmetal
  • use Tamiya X-11 Chrome Silver to redo the gold detail, this time using mr. masking sol or taking extra time with an alcohol-dipped toothpick to clean up. I’m also going to use the X-11 paint for the tubing.
  • Waterslide decals
  • Modify both forearms for better shield usage
  • Find a way to reinforce the weak wrists

Ambitious? Yeah. But I think it’ll be well worth the extra effort. By the by, does anyone know if Mr. mark setter has ill effects on paint?

I did get started to a degree tonight, stripping down Sinanju to just the frame and laying out all of the armor.

Only a few more things-

  • Made a Twitter account for the website so I can do quick updates
  • Added a Flickr account for brief WIP-updates
  • Finished Sword Impulse photos, started on Nu Gundam

Sadly, I’ll be gone tomorrow which means I won’t be able to get any more stuff done until later in the week.

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Rob on July 13, 2009 - 23:39

    Haha, man we think along the same lines. My tentative summer project was a blue/silver painted Sinanju. 😉 Looking forward to seeing how your kits comes out though, I’m not planning on starting until August or so as is.

  2. #2 by lupes on July 13, 2009 - 23:44

    wow, great minds good sir!

    I did some experimenting tonight and wow I’m going to need a lot of blue paint.

  3. #3 by Rob on July 13, 2009 - 23:59

    How’s thoe coating for it? 2 or three coats?
    My biggest worry is over spraying

  4. #4 by lupes on July 14, 2009 - 00:00

    I used two, but I’m pretty liberal with my coats. also, you’re going to have to spray both sides of a lot of the parts to prevent there being red edges.

  5. #5 by Roy on July 14, 2009 - 19:18

    Sounds like a daring project but I think you have the skills to accomplish it 🙂 Can’t wait for the finished project. Blue is my favorite color so I’m sure I’ll enjoy it no matter what ^^

  6. #6 by lupes on July 15, 2009 - 00:07

    Thanks for the vote of confidence Roy! I’m hoping I don’t disappoint, of course I’m not planning on doing that for even a second.

  7. #7 by Tonzo on July 26, 2009 - 21:44

    Mr Mark Setter should not affect your paint because you should have a completely dry gloss coat over it before you start applying decals. 😉

  8. #8 by lupes on July 27, 2009 - 00:36

    What if topcoating is necessarily an option due to the recent ban on exporting spray cans? 😦 due to my location, there isn’t really anywhere to get modeling supplies.

Leave a Reply

