SGB WiP- Almost there!

Just have the waist tubes to paint and the weapons to fix (I think I’ll be painting the beam weapons silver leaf/gunmetal and doing the blades in clear red as to look different from the rest of the kit), then it’s playing the waiting game until the decals arrive.

Some people have asked to see the arm mod with some better pictures, so I may as well show that off now as well.

I wound up handling this in a different than I had originally intended but I think this is a much more solid and reliable way to do this. I took a pc-c part leftover from one of the many MG kits I have and stuck it in to the place where the forearm/shoulder clip used to sit, then clipped part of a sprue off and jammed in in there. It’s a snug fit, but it works.

Then followed up by drilling a .104″ hole in the center of the forearm armor. This lets the sprue part go in to the frame part (where the beam saber would normally be located) for a nice secure fit. Yeah, it’s kind of annoying that I can’t keep the beam sabers in there with this arm mod but overall I think it’s worth the sacrifice. I may try to find a way that I can restore that little feature further down the road.

HGUC Kampfer is coming along nicely, but I need to get some yellow paint for it. The quality of the kit is really nice though and I’m plenty pleased with the HGUC series. Not much else for now though, working through all these kits very slowly while planning out what to do with the Gyan, Freedom and Exia…

EDIT: Look what got here today!

Thanks Rob!

EDIT AGAIN: Sinanju’s decals shipped! The end is coming up, ladies and gentlemen! I still need to see if I can replace the J and E runners, I think the rifle and shield may be a lost cause…

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Rob on July 27, 2009 - 19:59

    Oh! Glad to see they arrived safely!

  2. #2 by Gaijin Gunpla on July 27, 2009 - 21:06

    I really love that blue! I keep staring at it.. it pleases me.

  3. #3 by lupes on July 27, 2009 - 21:20

    I can always count on tamiya colors to look amazing once they’re dry! 🙂 Glad you like it.

  4. #4 by chubbybots on July 27, 2009 - 21:43

    TS Mica Blue works really well in combination with the other colors! This is one color I should take note of. And nice grab on the 3oth anniversary RX78-2! Does it come with the blue display stand? Look forward to your finished Sinanju.

  5. #5 by lupes on July 27, 2009 - 22:10

    Sure does, chubbybots! I’m glad Rob managed to hook me up with one 🙂

  6. #6 by Busterbeam on July 28, 2009 - 05:22

    yeah im seriously loving that blue too

  7. #7 by Roy on July 28, 2009 - 11:13

    Wow that thing is looking sick, blue FTW!! >< and nice get their, that RX is gonna look good on that stand^^

  8. #8 by GUNDAM GUY on July 29, 2009 - 17:59

    I can’t find your WIP for the silver design emblem pieces. How did you do them?

  9. #9 by lupes on July 29, 2009 - 18:05

    Hahh, there kind of wasn’t one ^^;; I just took a very fine-tipped brush and handpainted them. Nothing too terribly fancy and the shield is such a pain to get to look nice, but it’s the most straightforward method I can think of.

Leave a Reply

