Lighting and You (A PSA)

I hear some people compliment my lighting/pictures (much thanks to Busterbeam, Sonar and other members of GAF) so I thought I would make a post about it since my setup is incredibly ghetto but still manages to net good shots despite this.

First up is my lamp. Yeah, the singular lamp I use to light my room up. While it doesn’t look very bright in the picture, the bulb is a three way which means it goes between 50-100-150 watts, depending on how many times you turn the switchy. When taking pictures, I remove the shade (since sometimes it causes the picture to come out too yellow- recently discovered this) and then turn it all the way up to 150w to make sure that all the details are properly illuminated (and to capture that metallic shine for the models it applies to) but will go to 100w if it’s casting too much of a shadow. Sometimes it’s required that I hold the lamp in one hand and the camera in the other to get good results, but the camera I use has a setting to negate the shakiness.

Next up is the cloth you see under the models in all the pictures. Truth is, this isn’t actually a cloth…it’s a white t-shirt. The reason this is needed is because..

The area where I take pictures of my gunpla is the top shelf of my stand, where the perfect grade models reside. The pictures wouldn’t come out nearly as nice if you could see the models below, right? Of course, all if this info, while maybe insightful, is missing one thing.

My weapon of choice is the Panasonic DMC-FX01 Lumix, which is apparently a somewhat dated but very capable camera. The funny part is for all the settings and options it has, I use it almost exclusively in ‘simple’ mode. There aren’t any special dynamics or settings I use, just point and shoot. If it’s not good enough, repeat. Another rule of thumb, pointed out by Busterbeam in this post: NO FLASH. The cons are very blatant, so I don’t think I really need to go in to them…

We hope this post has been at least somewhat informative.

, ,

  1. #1 by Mathai on October 13, 2009 - 23:40

    Nice post, but may I suggest using a backdrop ?
    Its simple, all you need is a sheet of paper about A3 size and you tape on end of it about 30 cms above your self and let the other end form a curve onto the shelf-top. This will give you a seamless background. you can check my Gundam pics taken with a backdrop

    GN Drive

    ps.if the picture is too ‘yellowy’, use the custom white balance mode or set it to ‘Tungsten’ πŸ™‚

  2. #2 by Busterbeam on October 14, 2009 - 01:02

    thanks for the shoutout there lupes. glad to finally see exactly what you’re doing to get such great shots. i think i like your pics so much because they’re similar to how i take mine. or at least, used to.

  3. #3 by bd77 on October 14, 2009 - 10:02

    A white t-shirt is quite a useful item to have. πŸ™‚

  4. #4 by Tonzo on October 15, 2009 - 07:28

    Haha! Thanks for the shout out man. I think I give you props in some comments and disparage your lack of light in others. What I like in particular is your eye. Not everyone can compose a nice photo, let alone a really special one, and for this I envy you.

  5. #5 by B-Mecha on October 15, 2009 - 21:46

    Nice try. Artificial indoor lighting is one of the hardest skill in photography, dont worry and keep up the good work!

    Usually i use a big piece of A2 paper and a DIY light box with 2 table lamp + tracing paper. they works very well. would you mind to do link exchange with me? I like ur blog about gundams πŸ™‚

  6. #6 by Murana Table Lamps on November 13, 2009 - 02:15

    Hey u i am happy to see you here. U have Nice Blog Thank for sharing Article with me

  1. Gundam Photography – Experimenting with lights! Ikimasu! « The Toy Room

Leave a Reply

