Crossbone WiP: Katoki is still a bastard

The best part? There are still 4-5 decals that still need to go on the thrusters. Ka, you’re lucky all your mobile suits look so damn fine. My option color might be obvious by now?

I find that the cape that comes with the X-1 to…well…suck. It’s made of a silky thin lego-cape-like fabric and I don’t think it behaves very ‘cloth’ like, so I’m making my own and weathering it. This is just the basic cut, by the time I’m done you won’t see any of those red guidelines and it will look much dirtier and beat up, like a proper battle-worn cloak should!

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Busterbeam on October 28, 2009 - 03:07

    looking good! this is definitely one of the better crossbones ive seen.

  2. #2 by AstrayP03 (Zhe) on October 28, 2009 - 03:57

    Lol! Crossbone Spade!
    HOW THE HELL DID YOU MANAGE TO PAINT THE SPADE THERE??? it looks so clean! Unless it’s decals ?

  3. #3 by T on October 28, 2009 - 08:06

    Battle-weathered mech to go with weathered cape I assume? Loving the paint scheme on the Crossbone.

    Btw, whatever happen to the sinanju’s shield, if I may ask? Never saw the completed one in the gallery shots.

  4. #4 by lupes on October 28, 2009 - 09:07

    Astray: It’s a decal from some 1/144 decal set.

    T: Maybe, I might do some gunmetal weathering but at this point I’m not sure. I sent bandai an email about a replament part, gave them my info and whatnot and I’m still waiting :\ Might have to resort to something else, though now I know the part won’t be here in time for the deadline for the AFA thing.

  5. #5 by T on October 28, 2009 - 10:06

    The replacement service’s whacky recently. I did the same and it’s been more than 3 months with no word from them ever since. =/

    As for the AFA competition, it’s probably fine if the shield’s not. Hope that’s not holding you back from entering your Sinanju in, since it definitely deserves a spot there.

  6. #6 by Zro on October 28, 2009 - 11:10

    Nice looking Crossbone there! I especially love the spade on its shoulder.

    *looks up at Crossbone Red Skull*

    It may be time to gather some decals…

  7. #7 by lupes on October 28, 2009 - 16:53

    T: Yeah, I think I might have to see if I can get some help on the matter. I did already enter Sinanju in to the competition though, just look for the post about it on here for links. 🙂

    Zro: Go for it! My friends and I are groupbuilding it right now, but I’m the farthest along. 🙂 The more the merrier!

  8. #8 by Gaijin Gunpla on October 30, 2009 - 09:55

    Lupes, if you want help getting the shield let me know. I could probably have it in a few days and then mail it your way. You could paypal me some money.

  9. #9 by That is not a Starfish! on November 13, 2009 - 00:16

    Oh jeez, do you have any remembrance about what that 1/144 may have been? That spade looks really nice.

  10. #10 by That is not a Starfish! on November 13, 2009 - 00:22

    Oh hold on, I just found what set it was. Sorry about that.

  11. #11 by lupes on November 13, 2009 - 02:39

    No worries, thanks for the compliment about the spade!

Leave a Reply

