WiP- …I need paint.

These are so CLOSE to being done, and I’m stuck waiting on my tamiya web order to come in to finish all three of my projects.

Whining aside, I’m pretty happy with how they’re turning out so far. I think I need to work on Crossbone’s cloak some more, but otherwise it’s dandy. In other news, I’ve been playing with different lighting setups and I think I’ve found something that works pretty well!

Maybe I’ll take another picture sometime to show everyone how ghetto it is..

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by ren on November 4, 2009 - 22:39

    cool.. *patiently waiting* are you gonna use spray cans for these two kits too?? =)

    ren.

  2. #2 by lupes on November 4, 2009 - 22:46

    Yeah, the upper body of Crossbone is done and you can see where Sazabi is going (probably), I just need the secondary colors before I can finish them. Too bad I have to order all of my supplies online!

  3. #3 by chubbybots on November 4, 2009 - 22:46

    Man thats quite a fair of WIP you have going on there. Oh blue sazabi, reminds me of your ‘blue berserker’ 😀

  4. #4 by lupes on November 4, 2009 - 22:48

    The Sazabi was a predecessor to the Sinanju, after all! 🙂 The HG kit is so good..

  5. #5 by Aulon on November 5, 2009 - 00:45

    man, that Sazabi is looking awesome, can’t wait to see it finished (I need to buy moar Zeon kits…), I still have no idea what I’m gonna do with my Crossbone but You are right – the cape it comes with sucks.
    And I feel your pain, my nearest hobby shop is 50km from where I live :/ online is the only way

  6. #6 by rockleelotus on November 5, 2009 - 01:59

    any idea when they will arrive? i get all my supplies online too, and i prefer cheaper shipping = longer wait. looking forward to see how they turn out ^^

    ghetto lighting setups are the best, if they work lol XD

  7. #7 by Tonzo on November 5, 2009 - 06:47

    Welcome to the ghetto, and this is the place.

    Show us your Ghet-up Lupes.

    Looking good man. Keep on!

  8. #8 by JiangQin on November 5, 2009 - 19:57

    Hey there, im starting to learn painting my kits but have some problems here.
    Need your help.

    Do you paint your kits using the paints straight from the bottle or do you mix it with thinner first? and does the how do you play with the mixing ration thing?

    Im quite blur here coz i tried to brush paint straight but the color seem to be too dark.

    Anyway, seeing you tamiya paints aplenty, is tamiya color looks better than Mr. Color?

  9. #9 by lupes on November 5, 2009 - 20:00

    I just use tamiya’s TS spray cans, so as far as mixing or the like, I don’t. If you’re brushing acrylics then I’d suggest making sure they’re stirred up properly, I’ve never thinned them out myself and have never had issues. Enamels and the like though…no idea. Never used them, but I hear you’re supposed to thin them out with lighter fluid/enamel thinner and a consistency of milk is what you should aim for.

    as far as which is better, I dunno. I’ve never used Mr. Color. Tamiya has always given me great results so I’ve never felt the need to try another brand.

  10. #10 by JiangQin on November 5, 2009 - 20:34

    ohh yeeaaa thanks alot.
    and another, how long will one tamiya paint last if you brush? mine is getting less and less so fast.

  11. #11 by chubbybots on November 5, 2009 - 21:51

    @ JiangQin I do use both Tamiya and Mr Hobby paints. But I mainly handpaint so the ratio is 50:50.Looks wise no difference in my opinion. You can use those artist paint trays to mix em ^^. So for how long a bottle last it depends on what colors you are referring to and how frequently you used them.

    You can check out this thread on painting
    http://forum.bakuc.com/index.php/topic,91.0.html

    Cheers ^^

  12. #12 by lupes on November 5, 2009 - 22:03

    Thanks CB! I dunno when my paint will get here…

  13. #13 by chubbybots on November 5, 2009 - 22:15

    Haha no problem, just spreading some gunpla luv XD

  14. #14 by JiangQin on November 6, 2009 - 03:33

    lol thanksss alott

  15. #15 by Arein on November 12, 2009 - 09:29

    Wow.. You fell in love with that blue, or are those leftovers from Sinanju? xD

    Any reason why you got a Ver. Ka and not the Full Cloth?

  16. #16 by lupes on November 12, 2009 - 11:03

    full cloth is continually out of stock at gundam store and more, and I didn’t feel like paying for EMS shipping from R10/HLJ.

    they’re leftovers, but there’s a reason I’m using it.

  17. #17 by evolution on November 15, 2009 - 10:12

    Nice colours on the Crossbone, it looks more pirate-ish than the default “bright yellow yay” colour scheme.

  18. #18 by tamiya modelkits on December 20, 2009 - 13:52

    that is good post, keep posting

Leave a Reply

