That was fast!

While it’s not 100% complete, it’s done enough that I can justify showing it off.

Before:

After:

A very obvious tribute to Busterbeam’s Ebon Enforcer. A gold panel line wash is going to be needed, hopefully I don’t botch it too bad. You might notice I left the eye off of the kit..I was going to originally dot a blue or green eye in, but while test fitting things I liked how the all-gold gave it a visor-like appearance, and an unfeeling one at that, so unmarked it shall stay.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by chubbybots on December 1, 2009 - 18:22

    Fwah another master piece from you!!! Man the gloss black is really shiny 😀 Looks you only have the panel lines and weapons left to be done. And by the way is this your first HGUC? ^^

  2. #2 by Z on December 1, 2009 - 18:22

    Haha even before reading your last comments, I thought of BB’s Sinanju the moment I saw the after-photos xD. Gold and Black really works well together on mechas o_o. Your Kampfer is no exception. The red thrusters are hot too! ^^.

  3. #3 by lupes on December 1, 2009 - 18:35

    chubby: I’m flattered you can call these masterpieces, I think I’ve a ways to go before I reach that level. ^^; The weapons are kind of done, But I think I’ll have to give them a darker color after all so they match the suit. The is technically the second HG kit I’ve done, the first being the 1/144 reborns I did as a commission awhile back..but it’s my first HGUC model, yes.

    Z: Yeah, it’s fairly obvious for anyone who has seen BB’s model. The red for the thrusters was a bit tough, I almost went with silver thrusters and gold inside parts, but red manages to break the black and gold up nicely! gratz on the million hits too- maybe I’ll try to do something for 20k myself, haha. thanks for the compliments!

  4. #4 by Marzz on December 1, 2009 - 23:01

    Nice! I love the glossy black ~shiny~

  5. #5 by Busterbeam on December 1, 2009 - 23:04

    2 words. holy ****!

  6. #6 by ren on December 1, 2009 - 23:31

    mannnnn im always very impressed by how you use the spray cans….. hahaha.. i really dun have the skills yet.. superb finish on the kampfer! its really a masterpiece.. wow love those sleek gold colors.. looking forward to the gold panel line wash and the golden visor!! =)

  7. #7 by Busterbeam on December 2, 2009 - 00:45

    im going to reply again because 2 words isnt really sufficient. as you know im a big fan of your work. i havent seen a model you’ve done that i dont like to be honest. photos, execution and colour choices are all top notch to me. so it should come as no surprise that i also like this one. you know what a fan of black and gold i am! Considering that not only did I do my Sinanju in those colours but I also did my Impulse.

    the gloss black looks really nice! and im glad you decided to go with the gold visor look instead of the traditional mono eye! it looks great!

    also i know you said ‘tribute’ but i think it might be more accurate to say ‘inspired by’? either way definitely appreciate the sentiment! keep up the great work!

  8. #8 by Busterbeam on December 2, 2009 - 00:47

    actually you know… even the stock blue (with flat top coat?) looks pretty good by itself. not a bad looking kit

  9. #9 by Busterbeam on December 2, 2009 - 00:47

    ah yeah. sorry for the comment spam but i dont see a delete button anywhere!

  10. #10 by lupes on December 2, 2009 - 01:35

    ren: One can, three coats! 😀 It’s a bit of a new record for spray can usage for me, haha. The wash is giving me somewhat mixed results so far, it’s really hard to find the right ratio of paint-thinner. I got the line on the chest done wonderfully though!

    busterbeam: yeah, I’ve always loved both of those models…the colors blend really well, doing a nice job standing separate from each. Like I’ve said before, your work is something that really inspired me when I was getting started- back when I built my Sinanju (the first time) I thought something like yours was far beyond my ability, then or in the future. I’m glad to hear you enjoy the work I’ve done thusfar, simple as some of it is..I’ve certainly come a long way when you compare my early reviews for stuff like Ez8 and Hi-Nu to the more recent Crossbone and Sinanju pages. As far as tribute/inspired by, definitely going with tribute since I feel it’s more of a sign of respect. The first of many (I’d like to do one for the people who’s work kept me going towards bigger and better things), no doubt.

    And yeah, the blue really didn’t look to bad to begin with- I was just bored and had extra materials sitting around. No worries about the comments, I had a good laugh when my phone notified me of all of them!

  11. #11 by AstrayP03 (Zhe) on December 2, 2009 - 04:08

    THAT WAS FAST!!! LOL

    I like the back view, but not the front… too much gold, maybe? =/ Anyway, that was my initial thoughts… after looking at it a couple’a times it looks great >.<

    and I agree with Z, the red thrusters are Hot! ^^

  12. #12 by Tonzo on December 2, 2009 - 04:31

    “photos, execution and colour choices are all top notch to me”

    My thoughts exactly. Another deftly executed work from you Lupes, and FAST!

    The glossy black is gorgeous. I look forward to seeing the completed pics. =)

  13. #13 by Busterbeam on December 2, 2009 - 09:50

    ah! you’re a good dude. i really appreciate that man. glad i could help. its funny thinking of all the guys that inspired me and that i could eventually give that back to someone else. its great actually. i’m sure you’re doing the same for a lot of fledgling modelers out there (and maybe some of the more advanced ones too) yourself now and they in turn will do the same eventually. never really thought of gundam modeling that way but thats really how it goes right? we all make each other better in many ways. introduce each other to new ideas and push each other to make something just a bit better than our last creation.

    *sigh*

    i really do love this hobby. anyway sorry for the digression there and much obliged for the tribute! i salute you sir!

  14. #14 by Mathai on December 2, 2009 - 14:03

    *claps with delight* I’ve seen red and blue kampfers but never a nice glossy black one. I love the thrusters and also the decision to do away with the mono eye was a good and unique one. All the best with the panel wash! 🙂

Leave a Reply

