WiSSP: Vicious Project Hi-Nu

Sat down today and cranked a LOT of this bad boy out. For the last few months he’s been sitting there with one arm and the torso halfway finished…with the last skill I needed to tackle this thing kind of haphazardly acquired, it’s time to finish this big SOB off.

The resin kit is a TON of work that I’m not used to do, especially in the masking department. I’m definitely not masking master GaiGun, so some areas are in need of a little cleaning up after painting (namely the back skirts). While everyone says to prime resin to be sure the paint sticks, it’s nine-something from hobbywave and they have flat ten dollar shipping and you can see why that would be pretty much stupid…so I took a risk and painted the remaining red without priming it. The end result is hugely positive, though it took 5-6 light mist coats before I had a nice cherry mica red. It’s a little lighter than the chest, but the funnels are a darker red due to the blue base…the 3 shades work together very well, luckily.

The end of the road for this kit is in sight but still a good distance off- I need to-

  • replace the joints in the waist with the resin ones,
  • assemble the hands and gatling for the left arm (intentionally swapped the sides because I’m weird like that)
  • tighten up the joints more for the feet and funnel racks
  • detail the undersides of the skirt parts
  • paint the rifle parts
  • gloss coat with a silver or metallic red (would love for some people to weigh in here) panel line wash
  • find some glossy topcoat to finish it off with. What the hell do people in the states use, anyway?

So there’s still a lot of work left to be done, but I can probably do it all in a day if the weather permits and I have everything I need ready.

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by gman1523 on December 8, 2009 - 20:56

    Hi that looks awesome I just started building gunplas, hope I get as good as you

  2. #2 by lupes on December 8, 2009 - 20:58

    You can definitely do it, I remember when I started out…there’s a lot of resources and friendly people out there to learn from and techniques to pick up as you build more and more. Enjoy the journey!

  3. #3 by Schwarzwald731 on December 9, 2009 - 01:08

    Personally, I would go with the silver panel line wash. I think it’s a nice accent that complements both the red and black. As for topcoats that are glossy. Tamiya makes a good one as you know. I also have had some success with Mr. Hobby Super Clear in the bottles. If you’re feeling adventurous, GaiaNotes also makes a good glossy clear, but you’d need to order that from RainbowTen.
    Hope that gave you some options.

  4. #4 by Sajuuk on December 9, 2009 - 10:40

    Looking good! I keep thinking about disassembling my Hi-Nu and repainting it in the Nu Gundam color scheme.

  5. #5 by heathorn on December 13, 2009 - 06:33

    Sexy legs!
    Color scheme is for evil hi nu? ^^

  6. #6 by lupes on December 13, 2009 - 13:19

    @Schwarzwald: I figured the same thing, but think the red lines might be chance to give it more of an evil feel..it’s a tough choice. Thanks for the info about Mr. HSC and GaiaNotes!

    @Sajuuk: it’s a proven fact: everything looks great in Nu Gundam colors.

    @Heathorn: kinda, all will be revealed once I’m done! 🙂

  7. #7 by Sajuuk on December 13, 2009 - 22:07

    I think I’m going to go and get something a bit more sturdy than the included plastic things to support the funnels. I built my model about a month ago and they’ve sagged down massively. Anybody have an recommendations?

  8. #8 by magicmonkeyman on August 24, 2010 - 06:34

    Hey lupes
    Is that VP hi Nu a original or recast?

  9. #9 by lupes on August 24, 2010 - 09:19

    SMS Recast.

Leave a Reply

