Let’s take a walk to the FUTURE!

“How about custom paintjob ideas on lineart? That’s always fun to doodle. It may even give you ideas between kits.”

Actually, I’ve got a lot of these lined up already! While I may be on a bit of a hiatus from my favorite past-time, the ideas are usually something that are rolling around in my head most of the day. I know I usually keep them secret, but let’s get down on a few of them shall we?

I really like the GN-X design, even though the model is apparently a little less than stellar. While the orange one wouldn’t be for me (the same fellow who actually helps me out with a lot of these photoshopped mockups chose that color), the purple one is definitely a favorite of mine. The red one goes well with the orange, but we all know I prefer using off-beat colors. A simple project, but a fun one.

Anyone who lurks the GAF forums knows that someday I plan on entering in to the Unicorn Gundam group build. While I’d normally keep a project that big very hush-hush and under wraps, I might as well talk about it now. This mockup was done kind of in a hurry, but conveys what I wanted to do. A stone-looking combination of greys and blacks with a molten orange color for the psychoframe. In addition to that, I really want to find a way to install LED lighting beneath the psychoframe parts to really make them stand out. Obviously a very tough task as that’d be a lot of wiring and lighting to run through the frame. This one would probably be locked to Destroy mode in order to manage that, something I’m very okay with if I could find a way to make it work. This project as a whole would probably come after I’ve gotten a little more used to modding things for LED usage.

Busterbeam over at Plamo Addiction has been working on this one for awhile now, and I’ve been meaning to work on one for just as long. While I intend on getting the VP conversion kit for this one (the angles are so good on it!), the lineart still serves as a good means to prepare what I want to do with it. I’m torn between something with color (as you can see, I’m a fan of purples) and doing a simple-more muted down silver/black scheme. Both have their appeal to me, so we’ll see what I wind up settling on whenever I finally get around to building this one.

Let’s just stop there for now, since I don’t know when things will actually progress to the point where I can even get to those. Let’s not forget all of the other projects that I still have sitting around somewhat finished or planned out that are lacking such nice mockups (my friend is quite good with it, right?). Also, I’m always looking for feedback or someone to bounce ideas off of..so if you’ve got any suggestions or useful information to add, feel free!

‘Til next time, loyal readers!

, , ,

  1. #1 by divinelight on May 9, 2010 - 21:44

    I like custom color scheme a lot, moreover if you don’t like the original colors (I don’t like Wing Gundam Zero original color… )

    Also want to make Banshee, but I don’t know what to do the flame-psycho frame…

  2. #2 by Gaijin Gunpla on May 9, 2010 - 22:42

    Orange GN-X is awesome! Make it so!

  3. #3 by Busterbeam on May 10, 2010 - 02:56

    youre friend is awesome that stuff! props to him. you know whats funny is that normally i dont like red MS but i’m totally feeling that red GNX! maybe because its done in a classy way and not just making the whole damned thing red.

    one word for that unicorn. HEAT. that idea is brilliant! Why didn’t I think of that?! actually… I guess it’s not to late for me to steal it *evil laughter* no i wouldnt do that. well i dont think i would… damn thats a good idea though. i wouldnt do the leds but… it might look a bit too much like banshee

    I support all of the MGIJ designs. Purple would pay nice homage to the original but as you know i’m going monochrome with mine as well (with some green) so that one gets a thumbs up from me too.

    VP converstion kit… *takes a look* yes. stealing some of those ideas too. yes.

  4. #4 by lupes on May 10, 2010 - 09:03

    @busterbeam: It’d look pretty banshee like, but if I can get the right color combination on the psychoframe parts (a mix of orange, white and red) it’d really bring out the lava look that I want on those parts. As for the IJ, VP kits are the hotness. Always. The VP IJ is FAR less complicated than the VP Hi-Nu (I have to get another one, someday…) so it should be a pretty easy job. My friend is a photoshopping guru, he’s almost too good with it to the point where I have to push my painting abilities to keep up with his shops!

    @GaiGun: Oh, I will!

  5. #5 by V on May 10, 2010 - 09:09

    wow.. the red gnx and orange gnx are damn nice.. impressive color scheme.. inspired me a lot.. my next project is MG gnx.. haha..

  6. #6 by tsukinari on May 10, 2010 - 12:09

    nice one! the Red color scheme is kinda similar to my GNX color scheme .. Red and black/Grey is awesome on GN-X… I think going to use actual Kit picture to make color scheme, it look more pretty and summore higher resolution than line-art.. ^^

    the Banshee color scheme on Unicorn also nice XD

  7. #7 by Yomanman on May 10, 2010 - 18:35

    I quite like that purple GN-X. I’m a fan of that color as well.
    The lava-esk Unicorn gave me a wonderful idea, but it’s some daring stuff. If you check Instructables you’ll see several tutorials on flickering LEDs to give the illusion of a candle flame. If you placed LEDs within the unit, ran a wire down to the base housing the circuitry, you’d have an incredible model that wouldn’t do justice in pictures.

    http://www.instructables.com/id/Realistic-Fire-Effect-with-Arduino-and-LEDs/

    That tutorials requires some extra money for the arduino control board, but there are also instructables with dollar store flickering LEDs that you may be able to splice in longer wire and do an adequate job.
    It certainly would make for an impressive model.

  8. #8 by G.G. on May 11, 2010 - 01:57

    I like that Red&Black GN-X. Is fragging fantastic. Keep up these posts, I find it very interesting to read.

  9. #9 by lupes on May 11, 2010 - 14:45

    @Yomanman: That looks like it’d be pretty suited if I decided to go the extra 5 miles and make a full diorama/base for it so I could hide the board and wires effectively, but that’s certainly not entirely out of the question…I’ve always wanted to try making a diorama, after all. 😉

  10. #10 by Tonzo on May 11, 2010 - 16:50

    A blazing return to posting for you Lupes! Those mock ups are fantastic. Orange GN-X FTW. If you can pull off the lava effect it will be incredible.

  11. #11 by Tonzo on August 29, 2010 - 02:22

    I would really love to learn how to do what you did with those GN-X mock ups.

  12. #12 by aldarius on May 10, 2011 - 03:35

    Hi, beautiful red you have there, may i know what red is that? thanks

Leave a Reply

