MG Wing Gundam WiSP…wait, what?

Sorry folks, it’s still sitting in the box. As much as I’d like to work on it, I’m getting back on my feet after yet another move. However, things are solid now and I will be getting back in to the swing of things here in a few weeks. I do have some fun things to talk about in the mean time though!

First up, new camera! I’m only borrowing it, but I imagine I’ll have it for a pretty decent amount of time. While it’s nothing super fancy, it is a step up from my FX-01 Lumix…and it’s another Lumix. This time it’s the Lumix FZ7! So far I’ve taken a few test shots with it and I’m starting to get familiar with it and I can definitely say that when I have to go back to my FX01 I’m going to feel like I’m using a toy. I’m also playing around with the lighting style in my pictures though it’s not perfect in a few areas.

I used the Gundam Mk-II for the test shots since I wanted to get some more pictures of it anyway. As you can tell, there are two kinds of bulb at work here: a standard lightbulb and one of the CFL bulbs. They each aren’t really great on their own (though at the right distance and camera settings obviously gets passable results from the normal bulb) but I get the feeling if I can arrange it right and get the right intensity from each bulb I’ll be able to get some really good shots going. While we’re at it, I intend to get a proper black/grey backdrop before I finish my next kit so we can have a wrinkle-free background.

The difference is really obvious in this photo. This is a WIP though, I’m still learning how to fool around with the camera and messing with the lights themselves. If I stick to this, you can bet that the final product will be perfect.

Second, I’ve got another commission project! I’m really excited to be doing this one since it’s a kit that I’ve been wanting to work on for a really long time myself. By the end of this week I’ll be starting work on a Mu La-Flaga themed PG Strike Gundam+Skygrasper kit! All of the materials are gathered up and the ideas are pretty much set in stone, so this one will roll over to go-time and be at the top of list for things I need to work on. More on this as it develops, WISPs for this will start coming in in a week or so.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Yomanman on May 17, 2010 - 21:36

    I haven’t been reading your blog long, so forgive me if it’s been mentioned before, but are the bulbs natural light (3500K-6500K)? I switched to the natural white light CFLs in my lightbox and it was a definite improvement. If you can’t find them, or are in a pinch, the colors can be adjusted later in photoshop as well.
    Also, I think the black cloth will absorb some of your light, whereas a white cloth will make things even brighter for you. But, you may have black for a reason.

  2. #2 by lupes on May 17, 2010 - 22:02

    Yeah, the CFL is a natural white light one. I only have one for the time being and wanted to see what would happen if I tried to combine the two. I’m sure I can find some around here, it’s just a matter of actually getting to the store and grabbing one (which I’m sure I will before the next photoshoot).I don’t have a problem with the normal lightbulbs really, I’ve had better luck than I have with the natural light CFLs.

  3. #3 by igro on May 18, 2010 - 00:15

    Wow, good luck on that PG Strike – I’m looking forward to seeing the Mwu La-Flaga theme in action 🙂
    And have fun with the new camera – I see that your FX-01 didn’t allow for manual control, so there’s ton of fun waiting for you 😀 If you can/are willing to, please make a post or two about your experiments with the new camera – the world needs more photography + gunpla posts 😉

  4. #4 by JQ on June 7, 2010 - 04:05

    I love that first photo. Great pose and shot. Nice :).

Leave a Reply

