Dimension Diver Samus WiP 1

Fang Musha’s paint won’t be arriving until the 28th (Thanks, Tamiya shipping! It’s not like I wanted it by this week anyway) so until then, I found myself sitting down and sinking my teeth in to this beast. How many projects do I have started now…? (Hint: nine)

First order of business: soak the parts in degreaser for 24 hours. When they first arrived (much like Hi-Nu’s parts) they have a sort of greasy film on them which I’m told is to prevent stuff from getting on the parts while they’re en route to you. As such, they require cleaning unlike gunpla (which I do not bother to clean…ever) kits. 24 hours might be a bit much, but it doesn’t do any harm anyway so it’s not too big of a deal to be sure about it. I use purple power cleaner, something you can grab at your local wal-mart in the automotive department. Fair warning, it may do a number on your hands. Mine are usually dry and kinda peely after I get this stuff on them.

After the parts soak in degreaser, it’s time to clean them off. Lukewarm water, dishsoap and an old toothbrush work well enough for me, though it’s not the most time effective manner to go about this. I’ve seen machines for doing this sort of scrubbing stuff but since I don’t work with resin all that often (something that’s kind of changing) the simple route works here. Nothing fancy to be done, just scrub the parts off with the warm water, rinse and let them dry off.

White balance status: askew. Regardless, you can see that this isn’t the most intensive resin kit ever. You will note, of course, that the joints aren’t shown in this picture. The kit doesn’t come with them by default though TatsuHobby does sell a bundle of the kit+the joints. This is what comes with the kit by default, though. As you can see some of the parts have worse flash on them than others, like the head (which you can’t see) and the top red part of Samus’ chest. There are also a few spots that have some extra bits that require sanding down so the surface of the part is smooth, but it’s not any sort of grievous offense since a little 320 sanding fixes it right up. The only real trouble spot I have is the inside of the cannon arm, where some sort of excess resin pooled and made the front part unable to fit flush so I have to simple chop the end of the barrel off to fix it up. Not a big deal, since I plan on gluing the default beam tip in place to fix the slight gap that’s present.

Now, as this kit needs it’s own joints supplied, you also have to drill the holes for said joints. The bit that isn’t currently present in the picture is the one that gave me holes that were big enough to fit the joints in to but make it a nice snug fit. It should be noted that you should use a smaller one for the head’s joint, but the hole that was already sort of there for mine was too big to begin with so it needs to be tightened with CA glue. I don’t know if you had to drill the holes for the original kit or not, but frankly it doesn’t really matter. You can use a dremel or drill if you want, but I didn’t trust myself to not have something go wrong with it. As such…

I tackled it by hand. Of course, I didn’t find the right drill bit right off the bat. I went through about 4 different sizes before I finally reached the right one but for something like this it is definitely more beneficial to be safe about it. In some cases, I couldn’t make the hole quite deep enough without running the rest of drilling through the part and as such had to chop off some of the joint’s peg part. This doesn’t have any ill consequences though, and the joint fits just as well post-snipping. So, after almost three days of hand drilling holes and a lot of intense sanding work, we get…

The basic kit, even with no painting or other work, still manages to look nice enough. Obviously we’re a loooooong long ways from done (I have many plans for this! Nothing very fancy, but it won’t be staying as the Varia suit, that’s for sure). This is next on my list of things to tackle after Musha and then we start working down a huuuge line of things that got started and never finished or things we decided to come back to. Stay tuned!

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Gunstray on June 24, 2010 - 04:13

    Out of the box beauty, though soes the whole thing feel brittle?

  2. #2 by Busterbeam on June 24, 2010 - 06:03

    i like how you changed your theme and didnt even mention it all. jumping on the band wagon eh?! haha

  3. #3 by lupes on June 24, 2010 - 09:31

    Gunstray: Not really, I feel pretty comfortable posing it. I try to avoid fiddling with it too much since it’s not quite as toy-like as a gunpla kit though.

    busterbeam: you know it! i consistently manage to forget that i changed it and didn’t mention it, but it was definitely a good time to ride the wave and switch things up.

  4. #4 by Keroro on June 24, 2010 - 10:59

    “but it won’t be staying as the Varia suit”

    phazon suit eh!

    looks nice

  5. #5 by Justinzero on June 24, 2010 - 13:59

    I want this kit really bad, but I can’t justify fronting the money that it seeks. Thanks a bunch for posting progress pics on this baby.

    Also, why the hell don’t they supply the joints with the kit?

  6. #6 by Justinzero on June 24, 2010 - 14:06

    Wow, I’m crazy. I checked out the place you recommended and was blown away at how cheap the kit was. Ebay has one listed for, get ready for this, $400!

    $400!

  7. #7 by lupes on June 24, 2010 - 14:17

    That may be the original dimension diver though, as opposed to tatsuhobby’s recast. ^^; still, the original kit is very expensive. I’m glad TH offers it for far less.

  8. #8 by Justinzero on June 24, 2010 - 16:23

    I’m totally fine with a recast, especially after looking at the quality of yours in the pictures above. I promptly ordered one with a Megaman Zero kit as well.

  9. #9 by lupes on June 24, 2010 - 16:27

    Be careful, those kits are REALLY small and will require even more fine drilling and whatnot. I’m planning on getting that and the transforming Genesic GaoGaiGar as well.

  10. #10 by Justinzero on June 24, 2010 - 16:33

    Cool to hear that the parts are smaller. I have a few replica Jehuty kits that are very small and require a steady dremel hand. I’m just happy to see some decent casts for sale.

  11. #11 by lupes on June 24, 2010 - 21:15

    @Keroro: Nope! As much as I like the Phazon suit, there’s one I like better.

    Justinzero: If you’ve got a steady dremel hand then you’ll be fine. Lemme know how it goes!

  12. #12 by Z on June 25, 2010 - 03:16

    whew.. now this is HARDCORE modeling o_o *bows*

  13. #13 by Lace Williamson on June 26, 2010 - 20:21

    Man oh MAN. AH it looks gorgeous just assembled! Can’t wait to see the final product. Looks pretty darn pose-able, too!

  14. #14 by Tonzo on June 29, 2010 - 17:14

    Liking the new layout Lupes. That samus kit is a nice looking bit of gear, and I love the pose. I have mimicked what you’ve done there with my MG Exia and it looks killler!
    Unfortunately there is no revival of evilcow on the horizon anytime soon, so it looks like I will be starting from scratch next month, and looking to convert all the old forum data if and when evilcow can salvage it for me.

  15. #15 by lupes on June 29, 2010 - 19:54

    Damn shame about EC. WIth any luck we can at least salvage the legendary sinanju GB thread. 😉 Keep us posted on how the revival of the GAF forums is goin’.

    Love the Samus as well, once I’m done with my Musha I can devote my full attention to it. The clear green bits for the chest weren’t exactly perfect so it’s going to take some careful sanding to shape ’em right.

  16. #16 by Justinzero on June 29, 2010 - 22:07

    What’s this? Possible new message board to peruse?

    Consider me interested.

  17. #17 by JQ on July 16, 2010 - 15:42

    Haha this is great….did you follow my guide or was this suff you found out yourself? Really good stuff well done :).

  18. #18 by lupes on July 16, 2010 - 16:44

    Thank ya sir. All of this so far has been trial and error for the most part, mixed with a little guesswork. Looking back on it though that guide would have pretty much eliminated the need for me to move forward without having to wonder if it’d be fine or not. Airbrush gets ordered next week, so she’s going to be done very soon.

  19. #19 by Justinzero on August 31, 2010 - 02:08

    Mine finally showed up in the mail the other day. Big props to Tatsuhobby for hooking me up.

    Nice to hear there is a guide for the kit. It doesn’t look terribly complicated to put together, although, some of the flashing is in very undesirable spots.

Leave a Reply

