S.H. Figuarts Kuuga (Ultimate Form)

I figure that I’ll just give him a post here for the review of this, as the primary focus of this page has been (and always will be) about gunpla and the stuff that goes in to them. If I wind up with enough of these to warrant their own page it’s not an impossibility though. Kuuga was technically the first Figuarts that I got even though he was the last one to arrive and was a backup to the frustratingly limited edition Amazing Mighty form Kuuga. Nonetheless I’m really happy that I got this version, so let’s get to the figure!

Simple packaging, which is good. God knows that some stuff comes packed nowadays in a way that makes you have to fight with the box for five minutes and then you wind up with nowhere to put the extra stuff that the figure comes with. Speaking of extras…

4 sets of hands (5 if we count the ones that are on the figure), a different mask piece and the ever-awesome thumbs up hand. There’s a bit of backstory for the other mask part; Ultimate Form’s power is sort of inherntly evil and very similar to the power wielded by the final villian of the series- were h e to transform in to Ultimate Form out of hatred or other negative emotions, the black eyed form would be what appears. The Red eyes indicate that Yuusuke is in control of the suit and that he’s still fighting for everyone’s smile. Anyway, since Kuuga doesn’t have any weapons or the like in his Ultimate form the high number of extra hands are a must and they work really well.

The diecast feet for the majority of the SH Figuarts (Dragon Ball Z, Domon and a few other characters do not have them) are a real help to the poses that you can pull off with them, in addition to the toe joint. Also made obvious in these pictures is just how much detail they managed to put in to this thing. The arts part of the name isn’t just there for show.

Detail detail detail…it manages to still look nice just standing in a static pose. Not that any of us would ever want to leave it like that.

It took a little fanangling (as you can see, I had to get rid of the cloth beneath his feet since it wasn’t helping anything for this picture), but Kuuga does a nice Rider Kick. The left leg is a bit loose (something that can be fixed by dropping a bit of Future Floor Polish on to the joint) but even then it still manages to hold up wonderfully. Just don’t bump in to anything.


The hip joints can be somewhat awkward sometimes if you’re used to abusing the robot nature of gunpla or the way you can twist something with a revolver joint, but you get used to how to pose things (or find a creative way to go about the pose you want) after a little bit of playing. Like the box says, ‘humanoid action’ helps a figure express itself a lot since we as people can relate to different positions and the like. Once again, I’m nothing short of impressed by the figure. At this point there really isn’t much more to say about the line except that if you’re in to Kamen Rider (or Dragon Ball Z or One Peice, as they have a few Figuarts releases as wel- Hell, there is already a Domon figure out there and I’ve seen pictures of a prototype Master Asia which you can bet if he comes out, I’ll be getting both of them) you should definitely be checking these things out. I’ll have some more on the DBZ ones someday relatively soon, but for now I’ll leave you with a few more pictures.

“Messatsu!

, , ,

  1. #1 by Z on July 29, 2010 - 01:35

    Wow… I am loving this figure! I’ve been meaning to buy it too but the price is hard to swallow. I like how the black is matte like Batman’s. This Rider just reeks of “powerful!”. How much did you pay for yours?

  2. #2 by lupes on July 29, 2010 - 01:37

    I think the end price was about 41$ shipped from figure_house on ebay. It took about 10 days to get here, I think? He’s got a lot of other figures as well and I think I might wind up getting a Fang Joker from him soon.

  3. #3 by chubbybots on July 29, 2010 - 01:44

    hmm seems like a rider fever going on a few blogs that I am reading ^^

    Just a suggestion, maybe you a lighter background to contrast against his dark matt armor. Hard to make out some of the details in certain pictures. Just my 2 cents 😛

  4. #4 by lupes on July 29, 2010 - 01:46

    Oh yeah, I would have if I had any of my white fabric left. I sort of lost it in the shuffle when I moved again, so everything has to be on a black background for now. It’s something I’m working on fixing though.

  5. #5 by AstrayP03 (Zhe) on July 29, 2010 - 04:35

    Man this figure just reeks of awesomeness! I had to literally pull my hand away from the mouse just to avoid making anymore rider purchases T.T

  6. #6 by hiroy_raind on July 31, 2010 - 12:09

    The black eyes aren’t powered-up mode, it just show whether he’s sane or succumbed to the evil nature of Kuuga’s true power.

    Nice review. I think this SHF is one of the better looking Kamen Rider SHF series out there.

  7. #7 by lupes on July 31, 2010 - 16:38

    Yeah, I’m not sure where you got that I said it was a power-up sort of thing haha. Having seen the series there’s no way you can mistake it for a good sort of thing.

    I agree though, a lot of the other riders don’t really appeal to me. Might get that Rider 2 when he gets re-issued though.

  8. #8 by Z on August 19, 2010 - 01:35

    Hey Lupes, mind if I borrow a few of your photos in this post for my next 4koma? ^^;

  9. #9 by lupes on August 19, 2010 - 01:37

    Go for it! If there are pictures you need me to take just drop me a line and I can snap ’em quick.

  10. #10 by Z on August 19, 2010 - 02:05

    Awesome! Thanks! I can use what you already have here 😀

Leave a Reply

