S.H. Figuarts N-Daguva-Zeba

Maybe I’m going to need a Kamen Rider/figures page after all…

Up today after a very long drought in posting is the review for the SH Figuarts limited release N-Daguva-Zeba (care of Yokatta Web!), AKA the big baddie from Kamen Rider Kuuga. Can you guess which rider series is easily my favorite out of the bunch? Anyway, hit the jump for the review!

Zeba reeks of style, and evil while we’re at it. As you can see he’s got a lot of design parallels to Kuuga’s ultimate form which is explained in the series.

Bandai did an excellent job with the little details on this thing ranging from the markings on the cloak, hands and the other areas of the figure. The cloak and skirt both have more than enough movement to make sure that they don’t get in the way of the figure’s articulation, though the hair on the back of the head can get in the way of extreme turns and the like. Not really a big deal at the end of the day since most heads don’t turn around that much, you know? The only other quirk with this figure is that the feet are not die-cast like most SH Figuarts, so thanks to this plus the design of the feet he can have a bit of a hard time standing up in extra dramatic poses (Kuuga, however, pulls off Muay Thai stances like a champ).

For extras, Zeba doesn’t have NEARLY as many as Kuuga which is definitely a downer since he’s a limited release and all. He’s got the important hands though, and 4 sets is more than enough that you need for most poses.

Going back to the bit about Zeba’s feet, I had a really hard time even getting close to getting him to balance for a kick. As such, I picked myself up a Tamashii stage Act 4 and these things are definitely worth the money if you plan on posing these things in extreme anything. Not to mention for ~20USD you get enough parts for three stands which can also combine in to a larger base for some nice aerial action shots.

Pardon the lack of a background, but I think the pictures speak for themselves when it comes to how useful they are.

Of course, even on his own he’s got almost as much play in him as Kuuga’s various forms do. I’ve only had it for a handful of days, but I am definitely glad I sprung at the chance to nab this guy since he looks so good paired with Kuuga’s ultimate form.

I think I may have found a new hobby in trying to collect as many of the Kuuga SHFs as I can…However, I still haven’t forgotten about my main hobby!

Unfortunately, due to circumstances far beyond my control, my model building is still on the airbrush-hiatus. I’m trying to fix it as quickly as possible since I know the blog activity dies off something fierce when I can’t build, but for now I’ll have to thank you guys for being patient with me while we’re stuck in this lull in the action. Once they get rolling again, I promise you’ll see some stuff that’ll knock your socks off.

, ,

  1. #1 by tsukinari on August 16, 2010 - 02:26

    you should!!.. lol.. nice get there..

    and Kshatriya!!!

  2. #2 by Tonzo on August 16, 2010 - 05:47

    I’m still lurking… patiently waiting for a Wing zero update 😛

    BTW the Gundam australia Forum is back mate 🙂

    You’ll have fun building the Kshatriya. It is a rewarding build.

  3. #3 by AstrayP03 (Zhe) on August 16, 2010 - 06:36

    Is it me or does it seem like all the gunpla peeps are going KR? (including me… hehehe)

  4. #4 by gnsquacker on August 16, 2010 - 11:11

    I REALLY LIKE Zeba’s design!!
    I don’t know anything about Kamen Rider, but they look pretty sick.
    Zeba to me (A gunplaer knowing nothing about Kamen Rider) looks like a mix of a “bad guy” alien from power rangers and a badass looking final fantasy demon given a Lancelot color scheme: a formula for AWESOME!
    Also
    You use Tamiya spray paint when painting your models, right? Im getting sick of testors, is Tamiya alot better?
    If it is, Do you know a place where i can get it online for a fairly reasonable price?
    Thanks

  5. #5 by lupes on August 16, 2010 - 20:38

    Tsukinari: Amazing Mighty and Rising Mighty are next on my list! 😀

    Tonzo: Aces! I still haven’t forgotten any of my projects since they’re all standing on top of my dresser in the closet, waiting for the day I can get back to work on them. I’ll be sure to reg for the new forums as well.

    Astray: Yeah, I wonder what caused that?

    gnsquacker: Yeah, though tamiya is 6.50 a can. I find that when buying stuff like that it’s better to get it from the source to avoid any mixups or ripoffs or the like, but my SInanju was done with Tamiya spraycans and that should tell you how good the results are. Tamiya’s website stocks the spraycans, so check back there.

  6. #6 by Z on August 18, 2010 - 02:43

    Glad I’m not alone with the KR stuff 😉

    Oh yea… I can definitely see the similarities between the two! The horns, the gold, the *ahem* v-fin… that’s pretty cool. And it’s not just “ugly” like the villains I’ve seen so far, this Zeba is pretty well-designed. I’ve only seen Kuuga up to episode 4, how did you manage to watch the whole series? I can’t find the rest.

    And thanks for showing Yokatta Web! I didn’t know such a site exists! I might use them in the future to pick up a few things here and there… hehe.

Leave a Reply

