WiSSP: 1/144 Kshatriya

Yeah, you read right. A gunpla post. Started working on this big guy tonight since I wanted to get the tedious part out of the way before anything else.

Yeah, I migrated to the floor to work on this one so I could watch some TV while working. The carpet in this room isn’t too shaggy so there’s no worry of lost parts. Anyhow, HUGE. The size of the binders (Which are easily the biggest thing on the runners for Kshatriya) kind of took me by surprise when I opened the box the first time. With all of these things extended and posed, I’m pretty sure this thing is going to have to go on the top shelf due to size alone. Of course, I fully plan on making it worthy of going up to the same shelf as Sinanju…

24 Funnels with 3 nubs each, meaning repeating the same process 72 times. All in all it took me about an hour to sand them down proper (the nice file I have for this is my new best friend) and get the binders and inner part of the binders that they attach to sanded down. Thusfar, everything is looking pretty hunky dory.

Also related to gunpla-building news, some of you may notice the new addition to the top row. It’s not a Kamen Rider page (I’m working on it), but a Commissions page! I was really slacking on getting that up, but maybe now that it’s finally there we might see some new and interesting stuff from other people.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Tonzo on August 24, 2010 - 18:12

    Those funnels were a mission to sand. Good idea getting it out of the way first, the rest of the kit is relatively a breeze apart from a bit going on with the legs, nearly MG legs.

  2. #2 by tsukinari on August 24, 2010 - 21:34

    yeah.. Looks PITA to sands those funnels ^^;;… I’m really want this big guy but for now im spending on something else ^^;;

  3. #3 by divinelight on August 25, 2010 - 20:18

    6 funnels of hi-nu is exhausting, I can’t even try to understand how frustating build Ksatriya’s funnels…

  4. #4 by lupes on August 25, 2010 - 21:40

    to be fair, kshatriya’s funnels are just sand the three nubs down. there’s no actual assembly to do for each bit.

  5. #5 by Z on August 26, 2010 - 02:22

    Yea… Of all parts I hate working on, I think funnels and bits are what I hate most. You spend a long time tediously grinding away at them but once you are done, you don’t even have the proper equipment to display them nicely!

  6. #6 by lupes on August 26, 2010 - 02:24

    Agreed. I could have just cut the nubs off since I don’t know how I’m going to work out displaying them (I’m going to find a way!), but frankly when things have the small blemish left from cutting it drives me nuts now. I guess this is part of becoming a better modeler…?

  7. #7 by Tonzo on August 27, 2010 - 16:53

    I think it’s more about being a perfectionist. I long for the day I’m able to look at a pile of parts and recognize which nubs need to be cleaned up and which will never be seen.

  8. #8 by magicmonkeyman on August 29, 2010 - 04:31

    Hmm. . i wonder if they going to make a MG version of kshatriya?

Leave a Reply

