Stuff and things.

Let’s get some discussion going while I tackle menial things on various kits which aren’t in depth enough to get a whole post.

First up, Samus is aaaaalmost done. I need to touch up the purple in a few spots, glue the cannon together and then give it the metallic blue wash on the purple and red on the cannon. I plan on fixing those chest bits with some fancy sanding even (already done in the picture) though it means I’ll have to mask the entire chest up to redo them. The photoshoot for this won’t be too big since the joints can be sort of frustrating to work with and I absolutely do not want to run the risk of damaging anything but I can try to promise some good shots since it still manages to be fairly dynamic.

Blade Liger Mirage is still only partially done. One of the tiny clear orange parts flew off the runner when I snipped it and despite having relatively thin white carpet, I can’t find it anywhere. It’s a small part but combine that with everything else going on with that kit and it’s pretty irritating. I love Zoids but I really want this thing to shine.

Kshatriya’s test build it done. Still have to go over all the rough parts that will be showing with 1200 grit sandpaper and get my option parts around.I’m not sure if I’m going to get to this next or perhaps touch on a certain few larger kits…More on that in a second.

PG Strike Freedom is looking better and better. I think busterbeam is definitely right and thusfar Bandai has managed to keep me on board for this thing. The price tag, while huge, feels a lot more justified than the 00’s. Not to mention the design overall is just looking so much better! That’s what happens when you get Katoki in on something, I guess. Say what you will about how well his kits do poses and whatnot, but they consistently look damn good. I may not be a huge fan of Seed Destiny or Kira Yamato (I’ve only seen 19 episodes of the original Seed and absolutely none of Destiny), but damned if the design on this and gimmicks are enough to warrant my checking in to this. All of the details revealed about this thing so far have me excited for it. Provided things work out, I’ll definitely mount up and preorder it for it’s eventual December release.

This of course means I really want to start working seriously on my various PG kits. I’ve gotten plenty of ideas for all of them by now and it’s just a matter of finding the time and drive to work on them. Can I finish all 3 of these things before December comes and the Strike Freedom rolls out? With the Deathscythe MG coming up (ideas: half finished) and the other kits I have sitting half done, I’m not sure. Ideally I would like to at least finish the Wing Zero since that’s my oldest PG and I’ve only recently even figured out Red Frame’s theme.

This leads us to another issue: if I’m going to finally get finishing/buying all these big kits, where on earth am I going to put them? My storage space has always been on the small side, limited to one four level glass shelf (three really, since the bottom shelf gets so dusty that I don’t like to use it for anything) due to the fact that my room really isn’t the biggest thing on the planet. It looks like I might have to finally pony up and buy myself one of the very-celebrated Ikea Detolfs. What do you guys do when you start to run out of space? As you can see, there really isn’t much room for boxing stuff up! My collection has scaled down since way back when. How about yours?

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by tsukinari on September 19, 2010 - 22:40

    Samus resin look great..

    Zoids.. is hard to build.. I dont have guts to try one yet ^^;;

    PG .. I just cant afford it orz

    I kinda like that glass rack… I prefer glass cabinet or something like that, less evil dust ^^;;

  2. #2 by Justinzero on September 20, 2010 - 00:11

    I’m really debating on if I should preorder that S.Freedom PG kit too. It looks so damn good in those pics. Great job on Samus btw. I should get started on mine soon!

  3. #3 by Busterbeam on September 20, 2010 - 03:51

    when i run out of space (which i have already) i have to put my guys away into boxes. it sucks but thats what happens!

  4. #4 by Machenix on September 20, 2010 - 07:11

    That Samas kit is looking gorgeous. I really should get one for myself if they’re still around.

  5. #5 by Nyanerius on September 20, 2010 - 17:46

    Woah, Samus is looking as badass as always, but that shine just makes it so much more awesome. Put some gloss topcoat on her and you have an acceptably shiny suit.

    Ah, Koto kits’ clear parts. Those things can really FLYING IN THE SKY when you snip em out of the runner. Took me around an hour of searching for an Armored Core kit’s mono-eye, which has a volume of about 3mm^2. They can bounce, too, so you might want to check under desks, beds and furniture in the workroom if you haven’t yet.

  6. #6 by Z on September 22, 2010 - 04:50

    I’ve been out of space for the past year or so… my models are everywhere now! I need more DETOLFS!

    That purple matches Samus perfectly! I don’t know anything about her though ^^; I bought the first Metroid game for the wii 2-3 years ago… but I’ve never played past the first stage xD.

    Lovin’ the new layout man… looks fresh!

  7. #7 by lupes on September 22, 2010 - 23:40

    Z, if you ever ave free time I definitely advise playing Super Metroid on an SNES emulator or something. It’s nigh-legendary. 🙂 Thanks for the words about the new layout too! The old theme was just too…blue.

    Thanks for all the compliments and input, everyone!

  8. #8 by BlazeEagle on November 14, 2010 - 10:19

    That Samus is so freakin’ INCREDIBLE incredible lookin’! Superb job dude! I’d love a high quality action figure like that!!

Leave a Reply

