PG SF WiP 2 – Hitting our stride

Before I get to the gunpla portion of this post, I’d like to take time to say I’m glad that my fellow builders in Japan are safe and sound and that my thoughts go out to everyone that has been impacted by the earthquake. The Gundam Australia forum has taken up a donation fund to help out people in need and if you’re so inclined, definitely stop by and give a little.

Disco. As you can see, everything that will be visible has been chromed over, save for the waist, hands and upper arms. The tops of the shoulders and the plated parts on the thighs will be metallic green though some of the gold will still be visible for that proper psychoframe look.

I’ll also be leaving some of the vents gold since they’re the good gold, and the parts that I’m planning on coloring blue will have the candy method applied to them (black base -> alclad ii -> clear blue). It’ll be a simple scheme, but I’m positive I can pull it off well. The dragoons will be the true labor of love on this suit, I’ve got grand plans for them.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Sonar on March 15, 2011 - 05:06

    Thank you Lupes, your support means a lot.

  2. #2 by busterbeam on March 15, 2011 - 05:23

    may want to think about re-enforcing the wing joint before you get to work. hate for you to put in all that work and then not even have them stay up properly. looking good though my friend!

  3. #3 by Tom on March 15, 2011 - 10:09

    Oh you’re giving this a Unicorn look. I was wondering why you want metallic green on the frame until you said Psychoframe. XD
    Can’t wait for the finished product.

  4. #4 by lupes on March 15, 2011 - 17:23

    @Sonar: Of course. Aside from friends in Japan, my little brother is also over there (though he’s in Okinawa).

    @Busterbeam: Hell yeah! I need to start looking for pipe to do the GunJap method.

    @Tom: More like Hi-Nu to be honest, given the similarities between the two.

  5. #5 by Nyanerius/Shaomu on March 16, 2011 - 20:42

    Oh man, what little armor it wears now is already awesome. Just complete the symmetry and you already have a good-looking kit with some very nice exposed frame.

  6. #6 by Busterbeam on March 18, 2011 - 11:40

    just noticed : Occasionaly meticulous gundam model fanaticism. FUNNY! I’m going to take that as a compliment!

  7. #7 by lupes on March 19, 2011 - 09:41

    It most certainly is meant to be one! Your work on that RX-78-2 is outstanding so far!

Leave a Reply

