MC Hi-Nu Gundoom isn’t just for show…

If third party kits make you seethe with anger, you might as well stop reading now.

I’ve been working on this kit for awhile now (since the damn thing came out) and I’ve finally managed to get to the point where I want to show it off a little. It’s for another person, but regardless of that I’m really digging how well it all came together (on top of teaching me the values of masking and waiting for the paint to fully cure before removing the tape). The final kit will have a flat finish, and I’ll be sure to toss up pictures of it rocking the ‘Soul Cleaver’ once I touch up the beam sabers to match the Nu Gundam (pink instead of blue).

Given the bootleg nature of the kit, this thing really comes very close to hitting Bandai’s level of quality in general and I’m of the mindset it far surpasses their own 1/144 version of the Hi-Nu. The extra detail is excellent to see at this level and considering the price (33USD) I wish Bandai went to this sort of extent with their own kits. The wings of light on top of coming with waterslide decals is outright awesome and makes it something unique. The color separation leaves a little to be desired but since MC doesn’t have the luxury of Bandai’s injection molding it’s expected to have to deal with some areas needing a little work. In any case, if you can enjoy a kit for what it is I would say check it out and you likely won’t be disappointed.

In unrelated news, the FAQ/How-To page is finally really undergoing revision. Updates on general assembly, tools and painting will all be included, so you can look for most if not all of the current stuff there to be replaced.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by beamknight87 on November 17, 2011 - 17:16

    Looks great. The only detail I would point out is the shield. It definitely needs the bigass “A” insignia of Amuro rather than the tiny red unicorn decals which looks… timid.
    Any plans to get the HWS Nu Gundoom that came out recently? All the extras it has make it quite unique.

  2. #2 by Jacques on November 17, 2011 - 21:23

    Same here on the shield, I think between 2 insignias, you should choose and just keep one. I feel that having 2 insignias on the same spot loses the focus.

    I like the recolor that you applied on this model and more pictures please :D. This is an awesome kit, you should take more photos of it in dynamic poses

  3. #3 by Z on November 18, 2011 - 02:43

    LUPES! You know what you really need? a photo booth. Or just something to take proper photos of your work! They are amazing but man… those who can’t see it in person (aka everyone but you) wants to see it in all its glory too! Haha but seriously though, great stuff as always. The Nu color scheme is pretty accurate… what were your color choices? I’m amazed you were even panel line the legs considering how thin and shallow they were. Hope your client is happy with this!

  4. #4 by lupes on November 18, 2011 - 10:18

    Thanks for the feedback everyone- I’ll be doing some decal swapping soon. No plans for the HWS Nu, this thing was kind of a one-off for me too. I’ll definitely take more pictures of it though.

    Z, you’re super right about a photobooth. I need to get on a setup like yours if nothing else, but I don’t have much daylight to work with when I do take pictures due to work and class. Something to work on, I think. As for the colors, they’re the following:

    Mr. color super white
    Alclad II gloss black
    Mr. color character yellow
    Mr. color red

    I just sort of eyeballed it, so I’m glad you think it’s accurate! A lot of the panel lining was done in black then painted over and that turned out really well I think, something I’ll keep in mind for future models.

    The guy I build it for likes it a lot, and I think he’ll like it even more when he sees the beam saber parts once I’m done with them. Trying out something new that I think will look pretty killer.

Leave a Reply

