Not just for show.

Edit 12/1/12: Rules changed! More folks can join in now with their own original schemes, with using one of Amuro’s old suits’ colors as an extra/optional challenge.

The Nu Gundam ver. Ka is easily the biggest kit that we’ve seen this year (especially since there’s no new PG kit) and since I haven’t started a group build yet (GaiGun had the Unicorn GB and Busterbeam kicked off the PG Strike Freedom) I think it’s high time I get on that. Considering most gunpla builders I know are all hot on the Nu I think it makes a perfect kit to do this with!

I talked with BabyTheEnd and a few other friends and we came to a conclusion on a rule that will make the GB interesting: no stock colors. Just to further add further fun if you so choose to take up the extra challenge the kits have to be painted in the colors of one of Amuro’s old mobile suits. Aftermarket parts and other mods as well as kitbashing or adding extra parts (like that awesome double funnel set) are totally cool and in general there aren’t any other restrictions on the kit. EDIT: OTHER CATEGORIES ARE INCOMING ONCE SONAR GETS BACK TO ME ON THE DETAILS. THIS POST WILL BE UPDATED ONCE I HAVE THAT INFO. Aftermarket parts and other mods as well as kitbashing or adding extra parts (like that awesome double funnel set) are totally cool and in general there aren’t any other restrictions on the kit. The time limit for finishing the kit is tenatively 3 months, with the finish date being by the end of March. I’ve found that GBs with a countdown tend to be even more fun and push us as builders to create something amazing without taking 3 years (hello, PG Wing Zero). Now, of course the color restrictions do impose a limited number of spots for the GB..

Here is the lineart, which was done by BTE and cleaned up a little bit by myself to use with MS Paint with more ease (though it still isn’t perfect). Now, since the rules are you can only use colorschemes inspired by Amuro’s other suits here’s a list of those:

  • RX-78-2 Gundam
  • RX-75 Guntank
  • RX-77-2 Guncannon
  • RX-78-3 G3 Gundam
  • RX-78-NT1 Gundam “Alex” (counting it since it was intended for him)
  • MSZ-006-3A Zeta Gundam [Karaba Air Force use]*
  • MSZ-006A1 Zeta Plus A1
  • MSK-008 Dijeh
  • RGZ-91 Re-GZ
  • RX-93-2 Hi-Nu Gundam*

If any knows of any other official suits that have documentation of being piloted by or intended for Amuro, just let me know and we can add it to the list. BTE and I have already gone and picked our colors out while we were discussing setting up the rules for the group build…


Nu Gundam // Karaba Air Force colors – Lupes


Nu Gundan // Hi-Nu colors – BabyTheEnd

So that’s where things stand now. The kit is getting harder to come by now that it’s release is looming but BTE and I both have our kits preordered so we’ll  be getting in to those a few days after the kit releases over in Japan and we can officially kick the GB off. It’s highly recommended that you keep watch on the thread over at GAF for developments (and to sign up!) since it’s always easier to make a forum post than to drum up a blog post for these sorts of things plus you get the added bonus of the rest of the forum members going in. And as a special bonus, this might turn in to a little contest between the folks building the kits with a prize in it for the winner! But more on that as it develops since it’s still in the works.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Michael Sokolkov on December 1, 2012 - 12:17

    I’d like to take part, but I don’t have setup for airbrushing and painting in winter in apartment with sprays is totally out of the question. But I can’t wait to see how this turns out!

  2. #2 by GNSquacker on December 1, 2012 - 19:42

    Would love to join in! But I haven’t got the time to paint and have been out of gunpla and painting for a year…
    I personally think a unicorn/ MK 2 AEUG color scheme would work well. Did Amuro ever pilot the MK 2 in the anime or movie trilogy?

  3. #3 by lupes on December 1, 2012 - 22:31

    Yeah, it sucks that this kit comes out during the cold season. Here in the states at least it’s been pretty warm so far though…we’ll see if that trend continues in the latter half of the month though.

    Squacker: I have no idea, I haven’t seen Zeta Gundam in quite some time. It’s possible but I have no idea.

  4. #4 by GNSquacker on December 1, 2012 - 22:37

    Good on ya for the rule change!
    I was considering making a Blue Frame MG into an AC3 Connor Kenway custom (after seeing your great commissions/projects), but I might just redirect my focus onto this!

  5. #5 by Tony Monaco on December 3, 2012 - 00:33

    Warm in Ohio is always a trap. And it always brings it’s buddy CRAZY RAIN FLOODING BLAAGGGHHH! Therefore, all my outdoor painting (spray cans, don’t have airbrush) is on hold til probably like May. Yes, Ohio winter goes that far. All painting is by hand til then, which has a high chance of looking like crap.

  6. #6 by lupes on December 4, 2012 - 08:11

    Heh, I live in Ohio too so I know what you mean- though I’ve never let that stop me much (Then again, the airbrush setup helps immensely in this regard. I do recall using spraycans in winter and getting alright results but I had to bring the parts in to dry as soon as I was done spraying). You should talk to Asterisk, that dude is godlike when it comes to handpainting gunpla.

  7. #7 by squacker on December 4, 2012 - 18:40

    Made a nifty scheme that looks like a cross between Designer’s Colors (00) and GP01. Anyone interested in seeing it?

Leave a Reply

