Showdown!!

When I was starting my build of the Sinanju Stein, I made a quick update on the It’s a Gundaaaam! Facebook page with the V-fin in place, prompting a comment from Syd of the Gaijin-Gunpla fame; ‘You should see what my Stein is getting.’

That sparked a fire. Syd and I got to talking and decided that since we were both at roughly the same point in our builds we would wrap up what we were currently working on and then we’d have a showdown of Steins, each of us customizing our respective units.

As you can see, I’ve already the majority of the frame painted (aside from the backpack frame), and while I’ve painted a few parts yellow I’ve decided to change their color so even that won’t be the same on the final kit.

Digging in to the first of many mods (apologies for reusing the same picture from the last update, but I’ve already taken the backpack apart to paint it up), we’ve got the addition of the Hi-Nu funnel racks on to the Stein’s existing backpack.

Started by cutting a hole in to a section of the backpack armor, low enough so that where it’s mounted it won’t get in the way of shoulders OR ruin the suit’s profile. Maintaining a certain flow of a suit’s design is always an important aspect when doing mods like this and I rather dislike it when people just slap a ton of weapons and/or equipment on a suit. Remember kids- just because you CAN add 0 Raiser wings to something doesn’t mean you SHOULD.

It took a long time to come to a conclusion on how to set up these funnel parts. I wanted to maintain their ability to rotate, spread out and move up and down and to do that I ran through a lot of ideas before I landed on using the hip joints from my old MG Hi-Nu and while it’s sad to use the kit as parts, the recast Vicious Project Hi-Nu parts I got were so deformed that the resin kit is nigh useless. I hacked the L15 part down to size so it had a nice low profile but had enough surface area to still provide a solid area to glue to the inside of the Stein’s backpack part.

I ordered new parts for the actual funnel racks, but for now test fitting with the old Hi-Nu parts does the job. I made a little more room on the inside of the parts so they fit snugly though I think that when it comes time to load the racks up with the funnels I’ll need to either jam a PC part in there (unlikely- there isn’t a lot of room to put the one that works with the hip joint in there) or tighten the joint up more so it doesn’t turn or move unfavorably. So far so good! My parts from Gentei Kits arrived yesterday which had a lot of the other extra weapons that are going to get attached to this kit- but the MG General Revil ReZEL doesn’t drop until this Thursday (supposedly) and that has the parts I need for the final two big mods to this kit. Stay tuned, and keep your eye on Gaijin-Gunpla for what he’s going to do with his own Stein! It’s bound to be amazing!

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Michael Sokolkov on March 20, 2013 - 09:55

    Hah, I knew you were going to add Hi-Nu fin funnels after seeing that pic in Facebook. I have only HGUC kit of Hi-Nu, but these backpack parts are quite recognizable.

  1. It’s a Showdoooown! : Gaijin Gunpla

Leave a Reply

