Where I’ve been

Sorry for the radio silence, everyone. On the tail of finishing my RG Destiny, I’ve slowed somewhat while kicking in to the next project. I have been working on quite a few things but haven’t had the energy to paint lately. I’ve been prepping a lot of kits though and there’s a lot more stuff on the way at the end of this month- the RG GP-01s (which I’ll be working on right away), the MG Gundam 3.0 (work on that will start once I get the expansion set for it- undecided on the colors for now), the MG Banshee ver. OVA with a Final Battle Banshee behind it in September. In non-Gundam kits there’s also the new VF_1A/S with Striker pack with the August order and the Roy Focker version tagging along in September.

But since I generally try to make sure each post has a good amount of content, here’s some WIP stuff that I’ve been grinding out.

The RG Karaba Zeta is just as fantastic as the regular release, and I can’t wait to have it done and leading the charge with the other two Zeta Gundam RGs that I did a few months back. Did I mention that I kind of came in to two more of them, bringing my total to 5 of these? Regular Kamille colors for one and I’m thinking a ‘Unicorn Gundam’ styled colorscheme for the other.

I’ve got 2 of the 4 Jestas prepped armor wise, though there’s still a lot of customization work to be done. I know I’m making slow progress on these but it’s to avoid burning out due to the fact that it’s the same thing four times over. I’ll probably be purchasing a second Full Armor Unicorn Gundam to pilfer the weapons from as well as another project that is still in the planning stages.

The RG Destiny has gotten a bit hung up in limbo. I’m a bit concerned about doing a panel line wash for fear of ruining the kit due to the different brands of paint (I use Alclad II klear koat gloss for clear coats and generally use Mr. Color paints- which have not always played nicely with the clear coat) but let’s be honest- the kit needs panel lining of some kind. I’ve asked people before and completely forgotten their suggestions as to what they use for clear coats and panel line washes so if any reads are still out there and can give me their own suggestions for brands and kinds of paint I would really appreciated it.

There are a few other things that I’m planning on working on, but they’re all very much still in the concept stages. Most of them are revisiting old projects and giving them some more love so it won’t be anything you haven’t seen before- just more of the same but better.

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Michael Sokolkov on August 12, 2013 - 10:09

    I’ve got the same list of Gunpla for the fall, except Banshees ) I really loved building both RG Zetas (regular and Karaba), although Karaba stickers were tough to align properly due to their size. It was also fun, because I got MG Delta Plus build sandwiched between these two, so I could compare how the same transformation is done on these two scales. Both GP01 and v3.0 are already on the way to me and I hope they’ll arrive before my business trip to Ireland – that way I’ll be able to take one of the RGs and Gundam with me (luckily I have a huge trolley suitcase) to build on my time off.

  2. #2 by darkandchoco/暗いとチョコ on August 14, 2013 - 02:50

    That’s a lot of Jestas.. XD

  3. #3 by lupes on August 14, 2013 - 16:08

    every good grunt build needs a squad!

Leave a Reply

