FM1/100 BLR WIP 3: Highlighting? Postshading?

Finally sat down and got back to work on this kit after a full fun weekend visiting friends.

I initially wanted to paint the white armor parts with a Mr. Color 308 Light Ghost Gray FS36375 base coat and then preshade it with 332 Light Aircraft Gray, both semi-gloss colors. However after painting exactly one part I realized that the 332 aircraft gray straight up doesn’t work with the ghost gray in that application.

So instead of trying to preshade the parts, I took the ghost gray and added a splash of black to it and set to work postshading? highlighting? I forget which.

While it’s very obvious that it was my first try with these parts I’m pretty happy with how they turned out. It’s not perfect but overall I’m glad the aircraft gray didn’t work out and I wound up going with this instead. I think it looks a lot nicer. Now I need to gloss coat these parts so I can use Tamiya’s panel line accent on them and then I can finally flat coat and assemble the parts that I’ve finished so far! I’ll leave y’all with a teaser since I couldn’t help myself and put some of the head armor together to see how it’s looking so far.

The next few parts should be fun to finish and put together. Til next time!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.